Skip to main content

*Political Science: Subject Guide - Atlanta Campus: Find Articles

A starting point for general political science research.

Tutorials

Use the following tutorials to learn more about how to locate articles in journal and other periodical sources.

What is peer review?

  A peer reviewed journal article is an article that has been reviewed and chosen for publication by the author's professional peers. These peers are scholars in the field, who sit on the editorial board of a journal which is usually published by a professional organization or a university press. Peer reviewed articles can also be known as scholarly or refereed articles. 

BrowZine

BrowZine is an app that allows you to browse, read, and monitor many of the library's scholarly journals in a "newsstand" format:

  • Browse and read journals by subject, easily review tables of contents, and download full articles
  • Create your own personalized bookshelf.
  • Find BrowZine in the Apple App, or Google Play or Amazon App store and dlowload it for free.

Still not finding what you need? Try the Discover Search

DISCOVER searches across most of the library's databases and holdings using one simple search tool.

Advanced Discover Search or use the search box below.

GSU Library's Discover Search
Limit Your Results
 
 
 

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is another tool that can be used to help you research. It is a way to search for material such as articles in scholarly journals, dissertations, books, abstracts, court opinions, technical reports, patents and many other document types. You still need to evaluate the sources you find in Google Scholar because not everything is scholarly material. If used on-campus, Google Scholar will provide you with links to articles available through the library's subscription article databases. You can use the same search techniques with Google Scholar as you would when searching an article database.

Citation Searches

Need to locate an online version of an article for which you already have the citation? Try the library's

Citation Linker

To use:

  • Enter as much information as you have about the article (title, journal name, volume, issue, etc.) into the form and click GO.
  • From the resulting page, click on the name of the database which includes the year of the article you need.
  • Follow the available options to locate the article.

Database Search Tips

1.  For off-campus access, enter your Campus ID and Password at the prompt.

2. Use the Advanced Search option within the database you are using to achieve the best results.

3. Keep your search terms brief and concise.

4. Check your spelling. Library databases do not correct spelling errors.

5. If your first set of search terms doesn't retrieve any results, try using synonyms or alternate terms that describe your topic.

6. You can search for different forms of a word (different word endings of the same word), by typing the first few letters followed by an asterisk. Example:

  • econom* will search for economy, economies, economics, economical, etc.

7. Use double quotation marks around two or more words to search as a phrase. Example:

  • “political economy" 

8. Use the connecting words AND and OR to narrow or broaden your search. Examples:

  • liberty AND freedom - to search for articles that include both terms (narrows your search)
  • liberty OR freedom - to search for articles that contain either term (broadens your search)

9. You can create more complex searches by using the words AND and OR in combination with parentheses. Example:

  • "voter turnout" AND (election OR campaign) AND (income OR "economic status")

10. If don’t see a full-text link (HTML full text or PDF), try clicking on the

button to determine whether the article you need is available full-text in another database.  If it is, the Find-It service will direct you to the article.