Skip to main content

Reproductive Rights: Books

From the AJC Photographic Archives

"Condom barrel" at the Planned Parenthood bookstore, Atlanta, Georgia, June 21, 1983.

AJCP283-015a, Atlanta Journal-Constitution Photographic Archives. Special Collections and Archives, Georgia State University Library.


Pro-choice graffiti on anti-abortion Baptist church sign, Lilburn, Georgia, August 1, 1990.

AJCP136-005f, Atlanta Journal-Constitution Photographic Archives. Special Collections and Archives, Georgia State University Library.

Contact Us!

Want to suggest additional resources for this guide?  Have a purchase recommendation?  Need assistance with finding resources?  Contact us!

 

Jill Anderson

Women's Studies and History Librarian

janderson73@gsu.edu

 

Morna Gerrard

Women and Gender Collections Archivist

mgerrard@gsu.edu

 

Mandy Swygart-Hobaugh

Sociology Librarian

aswygarthobaugh@gsu.edu

Start By Searching Our Library Catalog

Use GILFind / "Catalog" tab on the GSU Library's homepage to find books in the GSU Library and at University System of Georgia libraries. 

GILFind includes books and materials from ALL of the GSU campuses: Atlanta, Clarkston, Decatur, Dunwoody, Newton, and Alpharetta. Use the "Place Request" link in the book's record to request a book from a GSU campus other than your own. GILFind also lists other materials in the library - including microfilm, dissertations, movies, music and special collections.

New! GILFind now also lets you search all of the University System of Georgia library holdings at once. Just select "University System of Georgia" instead of "Georgia State University" in Simple Search, or in the "Search Scope" dropdown in Advanced Search. 

To request a book from a GSU library:

  1. Click "Sign in" in the upper right-hand corner and sign in with your Campus ID and Password.
  2. Search for the book in the catalog.
  3. In the book's record, under "Get It," click on the name of the library with an "1 Available" copy.
  4. Click "Request" and select whichever GSU campus you want the book sent to in "Pickup Location."
  5. Click the orange "Request" button to submit.
  6. You will be notified by email when this book is available for pickup at the circulation desk on LN 1.

To request a book from any other USG campus via GIL Express: (click here for list of USG campuses)

  1. Click "Sign in" in the upper right-hand corner and sign in with your Campus ID and Password.
  2. Select "University System of Georgia" in the dropdown search box and search for the book.
  3. Click "More USG Libraries/GIL Express Request."
  4. Click the name of a USG library that shows as "Available" with a green dot. 
  5. Click "Request." The default "Pickup Institution" here should be "Georgia State University." If it is NOT, select "Georgia State University" from the list of schools. (Yes, it's silly that that list is not in alphabetical order. That is beyond my control, sadly). 
  6. Select whichever GSU campus you want the book sent to in "Pickup Library."
  7. Click the orange "Request" button to submit.
  8. You will be notified by email when this book is available for pickup at the circulation desk on LN 1.

You can also go to any GSU or USG Library and check out books in person using your Panthercard. 

A keyword search is a good place to start if you are looking for information on a topic. If you have more specific information, you can also search by title, subject or author.

Need more options? Try "Advanced Search" and "Browse Search" for more ways to search. 

* * * * * *

"Help! I'm looking at an ebook and can't figure out how to download it!"

We have a research guide to help with that! See http://research.library.gsu.edu/ebooks for information and instructions about how to access and download ebooks. Note that the answer will depend on the source of the ebook, so look for a vendor name like Ebook Central, eBooks on EBSCOHost, or Books 24x7 (for example) in the library catalog's information about the ebook. 

Subject Terms

Books in libraries are assigned one or more subject headings. These are standardized terms that ensure books on the same topic can be found even if the keywords are different.

When you find a good book, look at its subject headings in the library catalog record. Follow these to list other items on that topic. Or, use the subject heading terms in a new keyword search.

Try searches using these subject terms to get started! In GIL-Find, type the term into the search box and select "Subject" from the drop-down menu: 

  • Abortion
  • Birth control
  • Reproductive rights United States (or other country/region, for example Asia; or category, for example Drama)
  • Women's rights
  • Women Social Conditions
  • Planned Parenthood (will turn up Planned Parenthood Federation of America but also local Planned Parenthood organizations)
  • Pro-life movement
  • Condoms (try also Condom use)
  • Sterilization (Birth Control)
  • Involuntary sterilization
  • Abortion services

Why am I seeing different categories identifed as "MESH" rather than "Library of Congress subject headings"?

MESH refers to the the controlled vocabulary used by the National Library of Medicine. MESH stands for MEdical Subject Headings.

MESH terms are used primarily to search in the databases MEDLINE and PubMed but also show up in the library catalog. They are similar to, but somewhat different from Library of Congress subject headings (i.e. MESH uses "Sterilization, Involuntary" where LCSH uses "Involuntary Sterilization.")

* * * *

Searching the catalog using subject terms will also turn up archival materials and oral histories
available at GSU's Special Collections and Archives!

Search other library catalogs

If GSU's library doesn't have what you need, you have, don't give up.  There are several options to get the book you want:

Universal Catalog - includes all Georgia public colleges and universities. To see information about participating USG schools, click here. Request books through GIL Express, or use your Panther Card to check out books at USG schools.

Emory - you can also borrow materials at Emory with your Panther Card

ARCHE - with a special ARCHE borrower's card, you can check out books from several local private colleges. Click here for information about ARCHE schools and getting a borrower's card

Atlanta-Fulton County Public Library Catalog - GSU students & faculty may obtain library cards from the Atlanta-Fulton County Public Library, then borrow materials.


Use Interlibrary Loan to request books you find in the following catalogs
(or any other library catalog):

Worldcat - North American libraries and beyond.

Center for Research Libraries - a cooperative effort among member libraries to collect unusual and unique materials.


Still stuck?  Get more information, or ask a librarian for help.