Skip to main content

Domestic Violence Curriculum: Course Outline

Silenced Voices: Course Outline

Course Outline


Day One:

-Intro to Domestic Violence

            -Establish terms and guidelines

-Think, Pair, Share Activity

-Get into small groups and begin reading packets of primary sources

-Exit Ticket: Hand in Think, Pair, Share notes

 

Day Two:

-Finish reading packets

-Give students time to reflect in small groups or as class

 

Day Three:

-Jig Saw Presentation on packets

-Exit Ticket: How have your views changed from Day One?

 

Day Four:

-Begin class with time for reflections, questions, discussion

-As a class, make a list of

-the most important issues for DV survivors

-possible solutions public policy could offer those survivors.

-Students should form groups based on which issue most affects them

-Exit Ticket: Topic for letter to community leader

 

Day Five:

-Lesson on Letter Writing

            -professional tone

            -convincing argument

            -letter format

-Groups should choose which sources to use

 

Day Six:

Computer Lab

-Groups should look up community leaders and their contacts

-Groups should research brief background on these leaders

-Begin writing letters

 

Day Seven:

Computer Lab

-Finish writing letters

-Peer review

            -Groups exchange letters and give feed back

-Enter edits into documents

-Exit ticket: Hand in letters to teacher

 

Day Eight:

-Intro to Clothesline Project

- Discussion on most powerful sources

            -which sources are affective, effective and why?

-Students should begin drawing their designs on sheets of blank paper

 

Day Nine:

-Students will begin decorating t-shirts or paper cut out t-shirts

-While decorating, teacher will lead an informal conversation about how students feel about this unit.

-This will be a time to share in a safe space. No negativity toward students should be tolerated. This is not a debate.

 

Day Ten:

-Hang t-shirts around room and give students opportunity to appreciate each other’s work

-Pass back edited letters and, if possible, give one student per group time to input changes.

-With other students, choose a time for a Clothesline gallery opening and together create an invitation for community leaders, parents, etc

-Mail letters with invitations to community leaders, parents, principals, etc

-Exit Ticket: Envelopes to be mailed.

 

 

Silenced Voices: Course Outline Documents

Special Collections and Archives

Special Collections and Archives

Oral Histories at GSU

Archives for Research on Women and Gender

Donna Novak Coles Georgia Women's Movement Archives

Lucy Hargrett Draper Collections on Women's Rights, Advocacy, and the Law

Phone: (404) 413-2880
Fax: (404) 413-2881
E-Mail: archives@gsu.edu

Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202

In Person:
Library South, 8th floor

Employee Directory