Skip to main content

Domestic Violence Curriculum: Letter to Community Leaders

Silenced Voices: Letter to Community Leaders

Assignment for Letter to Community Leader:


 

Over the last week, you have read many primary source documents about domestic violence and the effect it has on women, families, and society. Today, we are going to do something about it!

As you’ve seen, the justice system and public policy can play a large role in preventing domestic violence and protecting survivors of domestic violence. You and your group are going to use the primary sources we read last week to write a letter to your community leaders. 

You will:

-Find the contact information for your state’s Senators, your district’s Representative, and your local Senator and Representative. You should find out who these people are and how to write to them. If you wish, you can also find local judges, the mayor of your city, or any city council members who you believe should know about this issue. You will get additional credit if you choose to send your letter to more than the four required. Your group should do some research on these leaders to inform the letter you will write.

 -Compose one letter that you will send to all four (or more) of these people. This letter should reference at least THREE of the primary sources we read last week. You can reference more than three.

 

 -The letter should be written in proper letter format which we will go over in class. I am also including a sample letter as an example.

 

 -The letter should try and convince your community leaders about one of the policy changes we discussed during class. This may be better enforcement of temporary protective orders, more funding for shelters for battered women, or something else you think is important.

 

 -You should use a professional tone in your letter. You will be sending this letter to elected officials, so you should be courteous and respectful.

 

 -You should use the proper terminology as discussed in class. 

 

 

Silenced Voices: Rubric for Letter

Special Collections and Archives

Special Collections and Archives

Oral Histories at GSU

Archives for Research on Women and Gender

Donna Novak Coles Georgia Women's Movement Archives

Lucy Hargrett Draper Collections on Women's Rights, Advocacy, and the Law

Phone: (404) 413-2880
Fax: (404) 413-2881
E-Mail: archives@gsu.edu

Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202

In Person:
Library South, 8th floor

Employee Directory