Skip to main content

Domestic Violence Curriculum: Jig Saw Presentation

Silenced Voices: Jigsaw Presentation

Assignment for Jigsaw Presentation:


After the Think, Pair, Share activity, each group will be given a folder containing primary sources written about and by victims of domestic violence. Each folder should contain a scholarly essay, a court document, and letters from survivors. Each group should thoroughly read these documents and answer the following questions about each document:

a.       What happened? Who are the major players?

b.      Do you think whoever wrote this document is a credible source? Why?

c.       Does this change the way you think about domestic violence? The legal system?

d.      What is one quote from this document that made you think? If you have more than one, you can share more.

 

 

Your group will then share your knowledge with the rest of the class in a brief presentation. Since your classmates have not read these documents, you will need to provide them with all the information you think is necessary. 

 

Your 20 minute presentation should

-Describe in detail each of the primary source documents you read;

-Detail the validity and reliability of the source (is it a police officer? A batterer? A survivor?)

-Be organized and clear

-Be presented in a professional manner

-polished tone

-easy to understand

            -good eye contact

            -confident demeanor

-Discuss how group members’ views have changed or stayed the same based on the primary source documents.

-Answer any questions classmates may have about your packet.

Silenced Voices: Jigsaw Rubric

Silenced Voices: Jigsaw Documents

Special Collections and Archives

Special Collections and Archives

Oral Histories at GSU

Archives for Research on Women and Gender

Donna Novak Coles Georgia Women's Movement Archives

Lucy Hargrett Draper Collections on Women's Rights, Advocacy, and the Law

Phone: (404) 413-2880
Fax: (404) 413-2881
E-Mail: archives@gsu.edu

Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202

In Person:
Library South, 8th floor

Employee Directory