Skip to main content

*Archival Research: Working with Finding Aids

Front Matter

Collection Summary

Organization Note

Scope and Content Note

Biography/History Note

Index Terms

Restrictions

Administrative Information

Related/Separated Material

Detailed Description

Finding Aid Tip

Many finding aids include a "Related materials in this repository" and/or "Related materials in other repositories" section which will direct you to related collections you might not know about!

Remember: Finding Aids Online

Not every individual item is listed in a collection's finding aid. Many Special Collections/archival libraries do not catalog their collections by individual item.

Not every collection will have an online finding aid. While most institutions are working to get finding aids online, this is an ongoing process for many organizations. You may need to contact an archivist to learn more about which finding aids are available online, and which are not.

Questions?

Questions? Contact us:

Jill Anderson, History Librarian

Morna Gerrard, Women and Gender Collections Archivist, Special Collections & Archives

Note: If you have questions about specific archival collections held at another repository (that is, not at GSU), you should contact that repository directly.

Scope and Content Note: Attention!

Pay special attention to the Scope and Content Note section of a finding aid. It will provide an overview of what materials are in the collection and alert you to weaknesses or gaps in the collection. You may discover that though a collection looks relevant to your research, the actual collection may be missing the items that you particularly need.