Skip to main content

Special Collections and Archives: Touching Up Our Roots: H

Hallelujah Our Heroes

Hallelujah Our Heroes: Panel on AIDS
Dave Hayward, Julie Rhoad, Craig Washington and Dr. Jessie Peel
November 21, 2013

DVD

Hayward, Dave

Interviewee: Dave Hayward
Interviewer: Lola Ibitoye
Date of Interview: December 4, 2010
Extent: 1 compact disc
Excerpt: Dave Hayward talks about conducting oral histories for Touching Up Our Roots.

 

Biography:
A core member of Atlanta's 1972 Gay Pride committee, Dave Hayward is one of the first openly gay journalists in Atlanta and Georgia. He has written for LGBT publications, including The Advocate, OUT Magazine, and Frontiers, as well as mainstream publications such as People and Backstage Magazine.
 

Working with gay activist Berl Boykin, Hayward co-founded Touching Up Our Roots, Inc., Georgia's LGBT History Project. Working with Touching Up Our Roots' administrator, Fred Brazzell, he has interviewed many LGBT activists in the state. Hayward currently serves on the National Center for Civil and Human Rights Global Advisory Board.

 

Abstract:

Special Collections and Archives

Special Collections and Archives

Oral Histories at GSU

Archives for Research on Women and Gender

Donna Novak Coles Georgia Women's Movement Archives

Lucy Hargrett Draper Collections on Women's Rights, Advocacy, and the Law

Phone: (404) 413-2880
Fax: (404) 413-2881
E-Mail: archives@gsu.edu

Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202

In Person:
Library South, 8th floor

Employee Directory