Skip to main content

Special Collections and Archives: Touching Up Our Roots: P

Panel On LGBT History

Panel members: Gil Robison, Dave Hayward, Max Klorr? Jimmy Gamarian? Liz Throop, ??????
Moderator: Dave Hayward
Date of panel: June 13, 1991
Extent: 1 DVD
Excerpt: LGBT History panel discussing the Barb, Great Speckled Bird and the Chanticleer.

Excerpt: LGBT History panel (primarily Gil Robison) discussing the founding of First Tuesday.

 

Abstract:
 

Peel, Jesse

Interviewee: Dr. Jesse Peel
Interviewer: Dave Hayward
Date of Interview: January 17, 2010
Extent: 1 DVD
Excerpt: Jesse Peel talks about getting involved with AID Atlanta.

 

Biography:
Originally from Everetts in eastern North Carolina, Jesse Peel graduated from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, where he attended medical school, then completed his residency in psychiatry at the University of Pennsylvania. He spent two years in the Navy, with tours in Vietnam and Okinawa. He lived in San Francisco and Nashville before moving to Atlanta in 1976 — just before the start of the AIDS epidemic.  

Witnessing the toll of the AIDS epidemic, Peel co-founded many of the major AIDS service organizations in Atlanta and Georgia, including AID Atlanta and Positive Impact, a mental health program for people with HIV and their friends, family and caregivers.

Peel now works with archivists at Emory University to document the fight against AIDS.

 


 

 

Abstract:

Special Collections and Archives

Special Collections and Archives

Oral Histories at GSU

Archives for Research on Women and Gender

Donna Novak Coles Georgia Women's Movement Archives

Lucy Hargrett Draper Collections on Women's Rights, Advocacy, and the Law

Phone: (404) 413-2880
Fax: (404) 413-2881
E-Mail: archives@gsu.edu

Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202

In Person:
Library South, 8th floor

Employee Directory