Skip to main content

Touching Up Our Roots: J

Johnson, Winston

Interviewee: Winston Johnson
Interviewer: Dave Hayward
Date of Interview: September 8, 2007
Extent: 1 DVD
Excerpt: Winston Johnson talks about coming out to Coretta Scott King, and asking her to support LGBT rights.

 

Biography:
While working for Eastern Airlines, Winston Johnson befriended Coretta Scott King, and enlisted her to actively advocate for LGBT rights and freedoms. As a result, Mrs. King served as the keynote speaker at the1986 New York Human Rights Campaign Dinner. She was also the guest of honor at Atlanta's Human Rights Campaign Dinner in 1988.
 

 

Abstract:

Jones, Allen

Interviewee: Allen Jones
Interviewer: Dave Hayward
Date of Interview: September 21, 2010

Biography:
Allen O. Jones (1937-) graduated from the Georgia Institute of Technology in 1960 and served in the U.S. Air Force Reserve until 1965. He was chairman of the Georgia Federation of Young Republicans from 1963 to 1965. While working as an investment banker in the 1970s and 1980s, he owned and operated Shelly's Bar and Restaurant and organized the AIDS fundraising group Helping Hands of Atlanta. In 1992 he founded the Atlanta Executive Network (now the Metro Atlanta Association of Professionals) and served for five years as its first president.

Special Collections and Archives

Special Collections and Archives

Oral Histories at GSU

Archives for Research on Women and Gender

Donna Novak Coles Georgia Women's Movement Archives

Lucy Hargrett Draper Collections on Women's Rights, Advocacy, and the Law

Phone: (404) 413-2880
Fax: (404) 413-2881
E-Mail: archives@gsu.edu

Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202

In Person:
Library South, 8th floor

Employee Directory