Skip to main content

Public Health: Online Program in Chronic Disease: How to Find and Order Books

This research guide is for Georgia State's career development program for public health workers.

Catalog Relationships

catalog relationships

GIL-Find: GSU Library

GIL-Find Universal Catalog: 35 academic libraries in Georgia

WorldCat: 72,000 libraries worldwide


Directory of Open Access Books

The Directory of Open Access Books is a service of OAPEN Foundation.


The library purchases individual ebooks on a variety of subjects from a selection of more than 350 leading publishers, as well as the e-Duke Scholarly Books Collection.

EBSCO Ebooks     

Search and browse across 30,000 e-books including many life science books.

The National Academies Press E-BooksNAP

Read more than 4,000 science and health books online FREE!


  - Searchable biomedical e-books
  - Linked from PubMed abstracts

Google Books

Google Books searches the full text of books and provides a preview of the book or the entire text.

Click the "Find this book in a library" link and you'll be taken to the book record in WorldCat, where you'll see . Click it to see if we have the book. If not, you may request it through ILL.

STEP 1: Start with GIL-Find

Use the search tab "Catalog" below to find books in our library. The catalog also lists other materials in the library - including microforms, dissertations, DVDs, music, and special collections.  Use the drop-down menu to search by title, subject or author.

What if my book is not found in GIL-Find or is already checked out?

Go to Step Two below: Find Books from Other Libraries in Georgia.

STEP 2: Find Books from Other Libraries in Georgia

Search other USG libraries in Georgia

Use the GIL-Find Universal Catalog.  If you find the book you want, click "GIL Express Request" at the bottom of the screen to request it be delivered to the GSU Library, or you can go to any of the University System of Georgia libraries and check out books using your PantherCard. 

Find books at other non-USG libraries in Atlanta

ARCHE Libraries
GSU users can check out books from ARCHE member institutions and affiliated library members.  To check out materials from these libraries, you need to get an ARCHE card from the GSU Library Circulation Desk on the 1st floor of Library North.  Verify they have what you need before you go.

Emory University Library
GSU users can also check out materials from Emory University's main University Library or the Woodruff Health Sciences Center Library using a PantherCard.

    Still not finding what you want?

    Go to Step Three below: Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

    STEP 3: Interlibrary Loan (ILL) Find Books from Libraries Worldwide

    Start from the Interlibrary Loan (ILL) page

    Click "Logon to ILLiad" and logon with your Library ID Number which is on your PantherCard. Fill in the citation information and place a request.

    Start from WorldCat

    WorldCat is a catalog that includes materials from over 10,000 libraries worldwide. Starting from WorldCat allows you to request delivery without having to fill in the citation information for the book!  After you have found the book in WorldCat, just click on Find it at GSU, then click on "Request This Item Through Interlibrary Loan", logon and place a request.

    Browse the Shelves!

    Here are some call number areas and how to read them.

    Example:   Public health ethics and practice by Stephen Peckham

    RA427.25 .P826 2010  

    RA  Call numbers begin with letters that refer to the general subject
    RA = Public Aspects of Medicine (as determined by the Library of Congress.)
    427.25 These are followed by numbers, which refer to the specific subject matter
    RA 427 = Public Health
    The third line usually represents the author's last name or the beginning of the title
    P = Peckham
    2010 The last line indicates the year of publication


    GV  Recreation
    Human anatomy
      Public Health

    RT  Nursing