Skip to main content

*Philosophy: Subject Guide: Find Books

A starting point for research on all aspects of philosophy.

Tutorials

Use the following tutorials to learn how to locate information in the library's Online Catalog - GIL.

Catalog Relationships

catalog relationships

GIL: Searches only items in the GSU Library

GIL Universal Catalog: Searches the contents of 35 academic libraries in Georgia

WorldCat: Searches 10,000 libraries worldwide.

Search the GSU Library Catalog to Find Books

Search the GSU Library GIL-Find Catalog
Note: Using this feature will take you away from this subject guide.

For more complex searches, use the Advanced Search option.
 
Search Tips:
  • Use quotes to search for phrases:
    • "distributive justice"
  • Use * for wild card searches:
    • ethic* will return ethic, ethics, ethical
  • Use the words AND and OR to narrow or broaden your search. Note: AND and OR must be typed in ALL caps:
    • doubt AND scepticism - to retrieve results that include both terms; narrows  your search
    • doubt OR scepticism - to retrieve results that contain either or both terms; broadens your search
  • You can create more complex searches by using the words AND and OR in combination with parentheses:
    • descartes AND (doubt OR scepticism)

Get Books From Other Libraries

Use the options listed below to find books not in the GSU library:

1.  The GIL Universal Catalog, allows you to search and request books from any University System of Georgia library. To use, choose "University System of Georgia" from the dropdown menu to the left of the "Search" button. After you find the book you need, click the "Log in to enable GIL Express Requests" link to have the book transferred to the GSU Library. Requests take anywhere from 4-7 days to arrive at the GSU library.

2.  You can also check out books in person from any University System of Georgia library or Emory University's libraries using your PantherCard. Call the library before you go for information on their borrowing policies.

3.  If you still are not finding enough information, use the WorldCat database, which allows you to search the collections of libraries throughout the world. Books located in WorldCat can be ordered via the Interlibrary Loan (ILL) ILLiad system. To do so, first locate the book you would like to request in the WorldCat database. Then, log into  ILLiad with your library ID number (on the back of your PantherCard) to place a request. ILL requests may take two weeks or more to arrive at the GSU Library, so plan ahead.

Still stuck? Ask a librarian for help.

Finding Book Reviews

Most of the library's article databases allow you to search for book reviews. Use the Advanced Search option to do so.

Here's how you would search for book reviews in Philosopher's Index:

  1. Go to the Philosopher's Index database:
  2. From the Basic Search screen, click on the Advanced Search option (under the search box).
  3. On the Advanced Search screen, click on (highlight) "Book Review" under the "Document Type" option in the "Limit your results" section of the page (near the bottom, left-hand side of the page).
  4. Then, in the search fields above, type either the title of the book for which you want to find a review or a subject area to find book reviews on a particular topic or issue.
  5. You can also search for Review Essays (reviews that look at an issue by covering the major works written on the topic) by typing "review essay" (in quotes) into one of the search boxes and the issue or name of the philosopher into a separate box.

In databases that do not have a "Book Review" limiting option, you can simply type the words "book review" (in quotes) into one of the Advanced Search option search boxes and then either the title of a specific book or a topic.

In addition, there are a few philosophy journals that review books on a regular bases. Here's a list of the best ones:

FREE JOURNALS

  • Notre Dame Philosophical Reviews
    An open-acess journal entirely devoted to publishing substantive, high-quality book reviews (normal length: 1500-2500 words). Use the links under the home page banner to access the reviews.
     
  • Philosophy in Review
    An open access, specialist book review journal in philosophy. Current reviews are near the bottom of the home page. For older reviews, click on the "Archives" link under the green banner at the top of the page.

SUBSCRIPTION JOURNALS
The library maintains subscriptions with the following journals. Click on the link to access the titles. After clicking on a link, a new browser window will open informing you of the databases in which the journal is indexed. Most will be indexed in several databases, however, the EBSCO databases (when available) are usually the easiest to browse and search.

  • Philosophical Review
    Publishes original work in all areas of analytic philosophy, but emphasizes material that is of general interest to academic philosophers.
     
  • Mind
    Covers epistemology, metaphysics, philosophy of language, philosophy of logic, and philosophy of mind.
     
  • Philosophy & Phenomenological Research
    Publishes articles in a wide range of areas including philosophy of mind, epistemology, ethics, metaphysics, and philosophical history of philosophy.
     
  • Ethics
    Publishes scholarly work in moral, political, and legal philosophy from a variety of intellectual perspectives, including social and political theory, law, and economics.
     
  • Journal of Philosophy
    Publishes articles of current interest and encouraging the interchange of ideas.
     
  • Philosophical Quarterly
    Publishes "high-quality articles from leading international scholars across the range of philosophical study."

Where's My Book?

When you search GIL-Find, GSU Library's Online catalog, get this information to find the book:

  • Call number
  • Location
  • Status (Checked Out, Not Checked Out, Renewed, etc.)

These web pages provide more information