Wondering about copyright/fair use for switching your instruction online? Check out this helpful addition to our Using Copyright in Instruction guide, Rapidly Shifting Your Course from In-Person to Remote.
Zotero is a free Firefox plugin that easily saves citations from the library catalog, most library databases, and other sites like Amazon, IMDB, and the New York Times online. See the library's Zotero guide for information about downloading Zotero and for useful tips.
I can also help you with Zotero! Please contact me at janderson73@gsu.edu if you have questions about Zotero or would like to schedule a Zotero session for your class, or to schedule an individual appointment for Zotero learning.
Endnote is a widely-used bibliographic reference software program that can help you organize your citations. It is free to Georgia State faculty, staff and students.
Please see the EndNote information page if you have questions about Endnote.
Don't want to download the software? Use EndNoteWeb, the Web-based version that allows you to access your citations from any computer, any where, any time. Go to the EndNoteWeb homepage for more information.
The library is open and DVDs (and even videocassettes!) are available for viewing, for checkout, and can also be put on reserve.
The library also has several streaming film databases:
This link opens in a new window
To link to a film in one of these databases, look for the "permalink" in the film's database (and/or the "Share" option).
We are not able to provide access to commercial film streaming sites like Netflix or Hulu (and so on) as these sites do not sell licenses to libraries or institutions. The site JustWatch.com provides information on commercial streaming options for films and television shows, which can help you identify low-cost options where possible.
If you have a public library card/account*, you may be able to stream films through that library account. Contact that library directly to see what your access options are.
*GSU students and faculty are eligible to get a library card from the Fulton County Public Library System, which does provide access to some streaming films. Learn more about getting a card here.
As we continue with online instruction, it's important to keep in mind that there are legal issues involved in distributing course information online. (As you may know, GSU was, until very recently, involved in a lawsuit begun in 2008 regarding this very subject!).
Key points:
Helpful guides from the Library:
On posting/linking to course materials in iCollege:
Journal Articles
Electronically available through the Library: Link directly to the article rather than uploading the PDF directly. This is the easiest and legally safest way to include an electronic article in iCollege.
To do this: Locate the article in a database, then look for a permanent URL (look for language like "persistent" or "permalink" or "stable" URL). The URL in the main address bar is a temporary URL that will NOT link students to the article: the "permanent" URL is the one that will do that!
Not electronically available through the Library:
Before you post a PDF directly to iCollege, read the USG Copyright Policy thoroughly and use the USG Fair Use Checklist as a tool to help you determine if your use of the item for the course is considered fair use. Save a copy of the completed USG Fair Use Checklist for your record and consider including a statement somewhere in iCollege to the effect that you have assessed that your sharing of this copyrighted material falls within fair use guidelines.
Books/Book Chapters
Search in the library catalog to see if an e-version of the book is available (see also our eBooks research guide for help on searching, and a list of databases below that include full-text ebooks for instructional use). If the book is available, look for the "permalink" icon and include the link in iCollege.
If you want to scan book chapters to upload a PDF directly to iCollege, read the USG Copyright Policy thoroughly and use the USG Fair Use Checklist as a tool to help you determine if your use of the item for the course is considered fair use. NOTE: You must save a copy of the completed USG Fair Use Checklist for your records. Save a copy of the completed USG Fair Use Checklist for your record and consider including a statement somewhere in iCollege to the effect that you have assessed that your sharing of this copyrighted material falls within fair use guidelines.
Fair use guidelines generally do not permit for entire books (or for substantial portions of books) to be scanned and posted.
This database is home to the full range of SAGE eBook and eReference content, containing over 5,100 titles, including reference works - such as SAGE Handbooks, academic books, professional development titles, CQ Press titles and more
This link opens in a new windowFilms
The library has several streaming film databases -- see the "Looking for Films or TV Shows?" box on this page.
To link to a film in one of these databases, look for the "permalink" in the film's database. Also, films in these databases are also listed individually in the library catalog; you can also look for the "Permalink" button in the film's catalog record and use that permalink to link to the film
We are not able to provide access to commercial film streaming sites like Netflix or Hulu (and so on) as these sites do not sell licenses to libraries or institutions. The site JustWatch.com provides information on commercial streaming options for films and television shows, which can help you identify low-cost options where possible. For other tips on finding streaming films, see the Video section of the library's Resources for Teaching and Learning Online guide.
You can also check on a film's site (or the distributor's site) to see if there are other streaming options available directly to you; these options will not be available through the library, but may be available to you individually.
What if the above options don't apply?
You must obtain permission to use the item. You generally can obtain permissions from the Copyright Clearance Center or from the copyright holder (generally the publisher).
Open Educational Resources
Open Educational Resources (OERs) are teaching materials in a broad range of formats (from full courses to textbooks to streaming videos and many other kinds of learning objects) which are either in the public domain or have been released under an intellectual property license which allows others to use them freely or repurpose as needed. See the LIbrary's Open Education guide for further information and assistance. See also our new database, Faculty Select, useful for searching for open or low-cost educational materials:
Faculty Select enables faculty to find and access open educational resource (OER) content, as well as find and request unlimited user DRM-Free eBooks from our library. You must authenticate before accessing this resource using the link provided.
The GSU Library has created the Resources for Teaching and Learning Online research guide to help instructors adjust to online instruction.
Possible options for integrating library instruction into your online teaching include:
Please feel free to contact me to discuss options!
Other research guides with information about support for distance/online learning are available here.
If you would like to schedule a library instruction session for your classes, please contact me at janderson73@gsu.edu.
Please provide the following information when requesting a session:
I'm always happy to talk with you about possible instructional options/assignments for your classes.
I can also teach Zotero sessions and/or provide individual Zotero instruction by appointment.
Additionally, I am happy to talk with you about options that would incorporate digital primary sources from Special Collections' Digital Collections as well as from our subscription databases and/or freely available digital collections.
Sessions can be taught in your classroom or in one of the computer classrooms in the library. Two week's notice is preferred if possible.
