Skip to main content

LGBTQ+ Studies: Books

Resources for Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer, Intersex, Questioning, and Asexual studies

From the AJC Photographic Archives

Richard Braddock, carrying U.S. flag, leads group of Queer Nation Atlanta, in the annual Gay Pride celebrations and parade, Atlanta, Georgia, June 23, 1991.

AJCP278-021b, Atlanta Journal-Constitution Photographic Archives. Special Collections and Archives, Georgia State University Library.


Participants holding signs at the 1980 Gay Pride celebration, Atlanta, Georgia, June 21, 1980.

AJCNS1980-06-21a, Atlanta Journal-Constitution Photographic Archives. Special Collections and Archives, Georgia State University Library.

Browsing the Book Stacks

Identify a call-number area that has books on your topic, and browse through the books there.

More books - search other library catalogs

GIL-Find Universal Catalog  - Georgia public colleges and universities (University System of Georgia, or USG) library catalog. Request books through GIL Express, or use our Panther Card to check out books at USG schools.

Emory - Use your Panther Card to check out books at Emory, or request through ILLiad Interlibrary Loan.

Worldcat  - Catalog for North American libraries and beyond. Request these books through ILLiad Interlibrary Loan.

Contact Us!

Want to suggest additional resources for this guide?  Have a purchase recommendation?  Want to help with the oral histories projects?  Need assistance with finding resources?  Contact us!

 

Jill Anderson

History and Women's, Gender, & Sexuality Studies Librarian

janderson73@gsu.edu

 

Morna Gerrard

Gender & Sexuality Collections Archivist

mgerrard@gsu.edu

 

Mandy Swygart-Hobaugh

Sociology Librarian

aswygarthobaugh@gsu.edu

Download the LGBTQ+ Resources @ the GSU Library flyer!

2,800+ Books!

The GSU Library has over 6,000 books related to LGBTQ+ subjects!  

  • Scholarly books—majority under call numbers HQ74 - HQ78
  • Autobiographical & biographical works
  • Fiction and literary works
  • Young-adult (YA) and children’s books in the Carl & Gretchen Patton Children’s Collection
  • Books for use in Special Collections
  • LGBTQ+ specialized encyclopedias
  • Graphic novels and comic strip collections

Start By Searching Our Library Catalog

Use GILFind / "Catalog" tab on the GSU Library's homepage to find books in the GSU Library and at University System of Georgia libraries. 

GILFind includes books and materials from ALL of the GSU campuses: Atlanta, Clarkston, Decatur, Dunwoody, Newton, and Alpharetta. Use the "Place Request" link in the book's record to request a book from a GSU campus other than your own. GILFind also lists other materials in the library - including microfilm, dissertations, movies, music and special collections.

New! GILFind now also lets you search all of the University System of Georgia library holdings at once. Just select "University System of Georgia" instead of "Georgia State University" in Simple Search, or in the "Search Scope" dropdown in Advanced Search. 

To request a book from a GSU library:

  1. Click "Sign in" in the upper right-hand corner and sign in with your Campus ID and Password.
  2. Search for the book in the catalog.
  3. In the book's record, under "Get It," click on the name of the library with an "1 Available" copy.
  4. Click "Request" and select whichever GSU campus you want the book sent to in "Pickup Location."
  5. Click the orange "Request" button to submit.
  6. You will be notified by email when this book is available for pickup at the circulation desk on LN 1.

To request a book from any other USG campus via GIL Express: (click here for list of USG campuses)

  1. Click "Sign in" in the upper right-hand corner and sign in with your Campus ID and Password.
  2. Select "University System of Georgia" in the dropdown search box and search for the book.
  3. Click "More USG Libraries/GIL Express Request."
  4. Click the name of a USG library that shows as "Available" with a green dot. 
  5. Click "Request." The default "Pickup Institution" here should be "Georgia State University." If it is NOT, select "Georgia State University" from the list of schools. (Yes, it's silly that that list is not in alphabetical order. That is beyond my control, sadly). 
  6. Select whichever GSU campus you want the book sent to in "Pickup Library."
  7. Click the orange "Request" button to submit.
  8. You will be notified by email when this book is available for pickup at the circulation desk on LN 1.

You can also go to any GSU or USG Library and check out books in person using your Panthercard. 

A keyword search is a good place to start if you are looking for information on a topic. If you have more specific information, you can also search by title, subject or author.

Need more options? Try "Advanced Search" and "Browse Search" for more ways to search. 

* * * * * *

"Help! I'm looking at an ebook and can't figure out how to download it!"

We have a research guide to help with that! See http://research.library.gsu.edu/ebooks for information and instructions about how to access and download ebooks. Note that the answer will depend on the source of the ebook, so look for a vendor name like Ebook Central, eBooks on EBSCOHost, or Books 24x7 (for example) in the library catalog's information about the ebook. 

Use the Power of Subject Searching

Using the subject search option in the library's catalog (GIL-Find) can turn up more options than you'd think!

To get a broad range of categories/categories, try subject searches using these terms. Type a term into the search box and select "Subject" from the dropdown menu. Use Advanced Search to search for multiple terms (books about "Gay Rights" AND "Transgender" for example).

  • Gays
  • Lesbians
  • Intersex (will also bring up Intersexuality)
  • Homosexual
  • Queer
  • Transgender
  • Gay Rights
  • Sexual Orientation
  • Asexuality

*Click here for more keyword ideas - a compiled list of Library of Congress Subject Headings for LGBTQ topics*

Stonewall Book Awards

Stonewall Book Awards honors books for exceptional merit relating to the gay/lesbian/bisexual/transgender experience, including awards for literature, non-fiction, and children's/young adult literature. 

Browse the award lists from 1971 to the present, and search the GSU GIL-Find catalog for specific titles.  If we don't have the book, you can request it via interlibrary loan, or consider searching Atlanta-Fulton Public Library System's catalog.  

Know of a great LGBTQIQA book that you think deserves the Stonewall Award?  Suggest a title for award consideration! 

Sage Encyclopedia of LGBTQ Studies

*ONLINE ENCYCLOPEDIA*

Goldberg, A. E. (2016). The Sage encyclopedia of LGBTQ studies. Thousand Oaks, CA: SAGE.

Exploring LGBTQIQA History via Specialized ONLINE Encyclopedias

Immerse yourself in your decade - browse in these ONLINE specialized encyclopedias availabe via our LGBT Life with Full Text database:

 Once you're in the "Publication Detail" view:

  1. Click Search within this publication link if you want to keyword search within the individual articles, OR
  2. Click the Full Text: 01/01/2005 link if you want to browse the encylopedia articles.