Skip to main content

Special Collections and Archives: Activist Women Oral History Project: P

Poteat, Tonia

Interviewee: Tonia Poteat
Interviewer: Terri Wilder
Date of Interview: June 6, 2008
Extent: 17 pages; 1 audio cassette; 1 compact disc

 

 

 

Biography:
AIDS activist and educator, Tonia Poteat has worked for the Global AIDS Program at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention where she helped to monitor HIV treatment programs in sub-Saharan Africa and to develop guidelines that low income countries could use to initiate and improve their programs.

Abstract:
Tonia Poteat begins her interview talking about her first job as a lay health worker at the Feminist Women’s Health Center when she moved to Atlanta after college. While working there, she decided she wanted to get a clinical degree and work with women with HIV. She discusses starting ACT UP with Alicia Culver and later working for Project Open Hand. She talks about her draw to AIDS work and activism and the connections she sees between AIDS and other issues, and then describes her work at the Grady Infectious Disease Program in the Women’s/Family Clinic and at the CDC in the Global AIDS Program. She also describes issues she sees facing women with HIV and AIDS in Atlanta and in Africa. She discusses working to get a dedicated HIV Center in Atlanta. Poteat describes her views on feminism, stereotypes associated with HIV, and issues surrounding HIV and AIDS organizations.

Special Collections and Archives

Special Collections and Archives

Oral Histories at GSU

Archives for Research on Women and Gender

Donna Novak Coles Georgia Women's Movement Archives

Lucy Hargrett Draper Collections on Women's Rights, Advocacy, and the Law

Phone: (404) 413-2880
Fax: (404) 413-2881
E-Mail: archives@gsu.edu

Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202

In Person:
Library South, 8th floor

Employee Directory