Skip to main content

Special Collections and Archives: Georgia Women's Movement Oral History Project: F

A guide to the Georgia Women's Movement Oral History Project collection.

Flournoy, Pam

Interviewee: Pam Flournoy
Interviewer: Mary Riddle
Date of Interview: September 17, 2005
Extent: 2 audio cassettes; 2 compact discs

Interviewer: Mary Riddle
Date of Interview: March 10, 2006
Extent: 1 audio cassette; 1 compact disc

Biography
Pam Flournoy moved with her family to Atlanta in 1940.  She graduated from the University of Georgia in 1952 with a Bachelor’s degree in Business Administration.  She worked in a variety of positions, including homemaker, teacher, advertiser, and most recently as a member of the Marietta City School Board.  As a member of the National Organization for Women, she was involved in efforts to ratify the Equal Rights Amendment in Georgia.  She was also involved with the American Association of University Women, where she served as the legislative chair and as a volunteer lobbyist to the Georgia Legislature.

Abstract (September 17, 2005)
Flournoy describes growing up in Atlanta during the 1940’s, and talks about the differences that she perceived between her generation (the first to grow up with the right to vote) and those of her mother and grandmother.  She also details her experiences as one of the few women attending the University of Georgia from 1948-1952.  Divorcing from her husband in 1972, she discusses the proceedings and the difficulties that she encountered. She goes on to describe how she came to join the National Organization for Women and the American Association of University Women.  Throughout the interview, Flournoy gives her opinions about the changing roles of women during her lifetime.

Abstract (March 10, 2006)
In her second interview, Flournoy begins by describing how she became involved with efforts to ratify the Equal Rights Amendment in Georgia.  She talks extensively on her perception of changing views of women in the South, including matters of legal representation, rape, and sexual harassment.  She also goes into detail about resistance to the Equal Rights Amendment on the part of women voters, including the League of Women Voters.

Fowlkes, Diane L.

Interviewee: Diane L. Fowlkes
Interviewer: Dana Von Tilborg
Date of interview: September 27, 1995
Extent: 2 audio cassettes; 2 compact discs; 33 page transcript

Excerpts:
Fowlkes talks about her earliest involvement with the Women's Movement

Fowlkes talks about the Women's Movement and the Civil Rights Movement

Fowlkes talks about the differences and conflicts between various women's organizations

Biography
Diane L. Fowlkes has been a leader in women's advocacy and helped to develop the Women's Studies Institute at Georgia State University. Fowlkes received her B.A. in French language and literature from Southwestern at Memphis, her M.A. in political science from Georgia State University and her Ph.D. in political science from Emory University. The recipient of a Fulbright Scholarship, Fowlkes attended the Open University in the United Kingdom, 1985-1986. She worked at Georgia State University for over 25 years, and was instrumental in establishing the women's studies program. During the 1990s, when dedicated women's rights activists approached GSU with a detailed plan to create a women's archives (which became the Donna Novak Coles Georgia Women's Movement Archives), Fowlkes represented the Women's Studies Institute in supporting their endeavors. Fowlkes's book, White Political Women: Paths from Privilege to Empowerment, was nominated for the Victoria Schuck Award for the best book on women and politics of the American Political Science Association, the Berkshire Conference of Women Historians Book Award, the Elliott Rudwick Prize of the Organization of American Historians, and the Joan Kelly Memorial Prize in Women's History of the American Historical Association (1992). In addition to producing many papers, publications, and presentations, Fowlkes also has participated in various professional associations: She was active with the American Political Science Association, the Southern Political Science Association, the Women's Caucus for Political Science (nationally and regionally), as well as the acting as co-chair of the Program Committee and coordinator of the NWSA '87 Quilt Project for the National Women's Studies Association. Fowlkes has served as consultant for various groups, including the Cave Springs Georgia Housing Authority (1994) and the Wellesley College Center for Research on Women (1982-1985), as well as acting as reviewer of books and board member for a variety of journals, and magazines. She is a member of the American Political Science Association, the Women's Caucus for Political Science, the National Women's Studies Association, and the Southeastern Women's Studies Association. At Georgia State University, Fowlkes served on a variety of panels including the University Senate (1995-1998) and the Committee on Faculty Women's Concerns (1989-1992). Her research and teaching interests include feminist theory, women and politics, and the scope of women's studies. In 1998, the year she retired from Georgia State, Fowlkes was appointed Professor Emerita, and during the spring commencement of that year, she was honored with the University's Exceptional Service Award.
 
Abstract
Fowlkes recounts her childhood, her education, and the events that triggered her interest in the Women’s Movement. She describes the Civil Rights Movement as the model for the Women’s Rights Movement and discusses how it influenced women to work toward changing laws in order to further integrate society. Fowlkes was involved in the Strike for Women’s Equality, the Feminist Action Alliance, the socialist-feminist movement, as well as the schism within the campaign for ERA Georgia. She discusses some of the major influential figures in the Women’s Movement in Georgia including Margaret Curtis, Joyce Parker, and Sherry Sutton. Fowlkes also discusses her work to establish the Women’s Studies Institute at Georgia State University which, she thinks, reflects not only the personal interests of different women, but also the accomplishments of the Women’s Movement.

Special Collections and Archives

Special Collections and Archives

Oral Histories at GSU

Donna Novak Coles Georgia Women's Movement Archives

Lucy Hargrett Draper Collections on Women's Rights, Advocacy, and the Law

Archives for Research on Women and Gender

Phone: (404) 413-2880
Fax: (404) 413-2881
E-Mail: archives@gsu.edu

Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202

In Person:
Library South, 8th floor

Employee Directory