Skip to Main Content

Postcards from the Edge VI: Television & Media Industries: Periodicals & Databases

Nedda Ahmed & Lea Whittington

TV Studies Journals

MIS Journals

COMING SOON!

 

List of media industries-friendly journals
from SCMS Media Industries Scholarly Interest Group

Industry Trades

Core Databases: TV Studies

Database Name What it has... Full text?

Film & Television Literature Index

(Ebsco)
  • Indexing and abstracts for more than 380 publications, 1972-present.
  • Trial is active until May 24, 2013.
 Some (if you buy full text version)

FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals

(ProQuest)
  • NOTE: ProQuest offers all their film databases (AFI, BFI, FIAF) together, as Film Indexes Online.
  • Indexing for 300 film periodicals, 1972-present.
  • Trial will be active until May 23, 2013.
 Index/abstracts only

Core Databases: Media Industries Studies

Database Name What it has... Full text?
ABI/INFORM
(ProQuest)

Articles from:

  • International business news sources (newspapers, wire services, etc.)
  • Trial is active until May 23, 2013.
 100%
Business Source Complete
(Ebsco)		 Articles from:
  • Scholarly business journals
  • Trade publications
  • Business newspapers & magazines
  • Trial is active until May 24, 2013.
 Mostly.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
(Ebsco)

Articles from:

  • Scholarly journals
  • Trade publications
  • Communication-related magazines

Also:

  • Books & book chapters
  • Trial is active until May 24, 2013.

50/50.

Indexing only for books & chapters.
Factiva
(Dow Jones)

Articles from:

  • International business news sources (newspapers, wire services, etc.)
  • INCLUDING the Wall Street Journal (the only full text source for WSJ)

NOTE: when searching for articles from a specific country or region, use the "Search Builder" for best results

 

 100%
Lexis-Nexis Articles from:
  • Trade publications INCLUDING the Hollywood Reporter
  • Newspapers (US + Foreign)
  • Wire services
Also:
  • Legal proceedings
  • Transcripts
 Mostly.