Skip to main content

Special Collections and Archives: WSB Radio History: 1980s

This guide chronicles the history of Atlanta's first radio station.

Events 1980-1989

Elmo Ellis retired after nearly 35 years.

WSB celebrated its 60th birthday.

Personnel 1980-1989

Jim Ashbery Jim Ashbery
Jim was WSB program director from 1987 until 1992.  He hired Clark Howard & Neal Boortz..
Dave Baker Dave Baker
Dave began his radio career in 1985 phoning in to WSBs Bobby Harper show as "Dave from Conyers."  Eventually he hosted a weekend radio show that brought on experts to advise people on how to fix problems around their homes.  The Home Fix It Show is now an Atlanta institution.
Lisa Campbell Lisa Campbell
Lisa started at WSB as a reporter/midday anchor in 1989 and became co-anchor/producer of Atlanta’s Evening News.
 
 
Tom Darren Tom Darren
Tom did afternoon drive at WSB from 1987 until 1988.
Mike Faherty Mike Faherty
Mike served as General Manager of WSB Radio from 1980 to 1991.
Kathy Fischman Kathy Fischman
Kathy was Bobby Harper’s partner on the WSB morning show from 1985 until 1991.
Paul Gonzales Paul Gonzales
Paul was at WSB from 1988 until 1990.
 
 
Reg Griffin Reg Griffin
Reg was a news anchor and reporter at WSB Radio from 1987-1989. He also did air shifts on WSB FM.
  Lee Hall
Lee was news director for WSB from1989 until 1992.
 
Sam Hall Sam Hall
Sam Hall was a newsman on WSB from1987 until 1989.
Bobby Harper Bobby Harper
Bobby hosted the WSB morning show from 1985 until 1991.
Dick Hemby Dick Hemby
Dick was at WSB from 1982 until 1988.
 
  Kathy Henderson
Kathy was host of WSB's Lawn and Garden Show from 1986 until 1994.
 
Bob Huntly Bob Huntley
Bob was the General Sales Manager for AM750 from 1983 to 1989.
Todd Leiser Todd Leiser
Todd as Sales Manager at WSB AM/FM from 1985 until 1988.
Gary McDowell Gary Mc Dowell
Gary joined WSB in 1985 and was assistant program director of WSB and head of network operations for the WSB Atlanta Braves Network when he left in 1998.
Mike Malloy Mike Malloy
Mike was the evening talk show host at WSB in the 1980's, then again for a brief time in 1992.
 
 
Kirk Mellish Kirk Mellish
Kirk joined WSB in 1987 as the full time meteorologist. His live forecasts are heard weekdays on Atlanta’s Morning News and prerecorded throughout the day.
 
 
Wes Minter Wes Minter
Wes hosted an evening talk show on WSB from 1989 until 1992.
 
 
Bob Neil Bob Neil
Bob came to AM750 as program director in 1986. He was named General Manager in 1989 and in 1996 moved into the position he holds today, President and Chief Executive Officer of Cox Radio.
Brad Nessler Brad Nessler
Brad was at WSB Radio as sports director and the sports voice of the morning show from 1985 until 1988.
David Paul David Paul
David was a talk show host on WSB from 1988 until 1992.
Ludlow Porch Ludlow Porch
Ludlow was a talk show host on WSB from 1982 until 1991. He was inducted into the Georgia Radio Hall of Fame in 2007.
Condace Pressley Condace Pressley
Condace came to WSB as reporter in 1986 and has served as producer, assistant news director, and now is assistant program director.
  Doug Rink
Doug came to WSB in 1988 and was a general assignment reporter. He covered the Gulf War in 1991and won many awards for his work. He left in 1994.
 
Scott Slade Scott Slade
Scott joined WSB in 1984 as the Skycopter traffic reporter. In 1991 he was promoted into his present position as host of Atlanta’s Morning News. Scott was inducted into the Georgia Radio Hall of Fame in 2008.
Russ Spooner
The Russ Spooner Morning Show replaced the WSB Merry Go Round in 1981 and continued until 1985. 

 

  Walt Williams
Hired in 1980 as program director of WSB A.M. He hired Bobby Harper, Ludlow Porch and Scott Slade.
 
  Elaine Wooten
Elaine was an award winning writer reporter for WSB News in the 80’s. She left in 1991.

 

Special Collections and Archives

Special Collections and Archives
Popular Music and Culture Collection

Phone: (404) 413-2880
Fax: (404) 413-2881
E-Mail: archives@gsu.edu

Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202

In Person:
Library South, 8th floor

Employee Directory