Skip to main content

Special Collections and Archives: WSB Radio History: 1970s

This guide chronicles the history of Atlanta's first radio station.

Events 1970-1979

WSB produced and aired "Hidden History," a feature celebrating the accomplishments of blacks Americans.

WSB hosted a talent search; the top prize was a recording contract.

WSB News Director Aubrey Morris traveled to Israel for a special series.

WSB takes its listener down memory lane by airing the original "Lone Ranger" radio program.

WSB received the "School Bell" award from by The Georgia Education Association.

WSB received the "Distinguished Service Award" from the Freedom Foundation.

WSB FM programmed beautiful music and was identified as the "Sounds of Love."

WSB broadcast coverage of funeral services for Senator Richard Russell.

WSB's Skycopter assisted police in the capture of a murder suspect.

WSB celebrates its 50th birthday.

WSB FM became the first Atlanta station to broadcast Quadrasonic; four channel sound.

WSB AM and FM dominated Arbitron ratings for Atlanta.

Carrollton resident Susan Hayward was a Bob Van Camp's guest on WSB's morning "Merry Go Round," while filming "I'd Climb The Highest Mountain" in the North Georgia.

Bob Van Camp retired from WSB.  

The Associated Press named WSB Radio "Georgia's Most Outstanding News Operation" for the eighth consecutive year.

WSB broadcast information around the clock when the worst ice storm in decades struck Atlanta.

WSB contributes to Atlanta's Clark College for operation of its Mass Communication Center.

WSB's public service department hosted luncheon meetings with Atlanta civic leaders in order to keep informed on the needs, interests, and problems in the community.

WSB invited the audience to pay program director and suggest new program ideas.

WSB's longest running contest was the "WSB Mysteree," the audience was invited to guess the celebrity voice.

Santa Claus arrived at Lennox Square aboard the WSB Skycopter to officially open the holiday shopping season.

WSB newsman Gordon Van Mol entered a burning house and rescued an elderly woman.  He received an award from Atlanta's Mayor and a commendation from President Nixon.

WSB's Elmo Ellis records "Hammerin’ Hank," a song encouraging Aaron to hit "714."

WSB listeners heard the play-by-play description of Hank Aaron tie Babe Ruth's home run record.

Personnel 1970-1979

Roz Abrams Roz Abrams
Roz Abrams came to WSB in 1975 and was a news anchor and reporter until 1978.
  Beau Allen
Beau was a newsroom assistant at WSB from 1970 until 1972.

 

Jack Anthony Jack Anthony
Jack was at WSB from 1971 till 1975 and worked as an announcer, produced specials, performed commercial and promo production work, some news, and sportscasts.
Eddie Baxter Eddie Baxter
Eddie was an announcer on WSB from 1970 until 1972.
 

Dan Bostwick
While attending Georgia State University, Dan was newsroom production assistant during from 1977 until 1979.

 

Kerry Browning Kerry Browning
Kerry Browning did every job in the WSB news department from 1978 to 2008, including Skycopter traffic, reporter, and news director.
Bob Brussack Bob Brussack
While at UGA, Bob worked weekends as a reporter and newscaster commuting from Athens. In 1971, when he finished school, he joined WSB News full-time and stayed until 1973.
Bill Bulger Bill Bulger
Bill began in 1974 as a reporter/anchor covering the state legislature.  In 1978 he went to law school, but returned as WSB as News Director from 1982 until 1987.
Matt Caesar Matt Caesar
Matt was mid-day announcer from 1978 until 1982.
  Tammy Cairns
Tammy was a general assignment reporter and anchor for the WSB morning news shows in 1975.

 

Tom Carlysle Tom Carlysle
Tom was the WSB Skycopter traffic reporter from 1978to 1980.
Skip Caray Skip Caray
Skip was one of the voices of the Atlanta Braves from 1976 until 2008. He was inducted into the Georgia Radio Hall of Fame posthumously in 2008.
Ann Cooper Ann Cooper
Ann started at WSB in 1973 as a member of the traffic and continuity department.

 

Ed Dumbar Ed Dunbar
Ed was the assistant program director of WSB Radio from 1974 to 1978. 
  Rick Edwards
Rick was WSB Skycopter traffic reporter from 1975 to 1978.

 

Dave Foulk Dave Foulk
Dave was a reporter, Skycopter traffic reporter, and anchor on the WSB Morning News from 1977 until 1992.
Gary Guntor Gary Guntor
Gary joined WSB in 1970 and stayed until 1974. He hosted the “Clockwatcher Show”, “Metro All Requests”, and “Nightbeat”. He returned in 1982 and stayed until 1991.
  Kermit Hamby
Kermit was an engineer at WSB until 1978.

 

Carol Harmon Carol Harman
Carol joined WSB in 1975 on a Teacher Fellowship working in all departments. Then from 1976-1980 she was a Tour Guide and worked in all departments of radio.
Scott Harrington Scott Harrington
Scott joined WSB as a news anchor in 1973 and won awards for his coverage of an airliner crash in New Hope, Georgia in 1977. He left WSB in 1978.
John Holliman John Holliman
John worked at WSB Radio from 1970 until 1974.
Jim Howell Jim Howell
Jim joined WSB in 1970 as an announcer then teamed with John Moore in the late 1970's as co- host of the WSB morning show, “Merry Go Round”.
Chuck Hussion Chuck Hussion
Chuck did sports for WSB from 1978 until 1984.
  Jane Jelks
Jane was WSB Radio's continuity director and producer/host of Women's World from 1973 until 1981.

  

  Krista Johnson
Krista joined WSB in 1971 as a member of the business office staff.

 

  Chris Jones
Chris worked as the news and sports assistant from 1970 to 1975. He was later employed at WRFC in Athens.

 

Mike Kavanagh Mike Kavanagh
Mike joined WSB in 1976 and was a reporter until 1977. He returned in 1990, staying only one year. He returned in 1991 and stayed until 2006 in a full time news anchor capacity. He continued on to host “Money Matters" on Sunday mornings until his death in 2008. Mike was the founder and creator of this web site. He bequeathed it to the Georgia Radio Hall of Fame for perpetuation.
 
 
Wally Kennedy Wally Kennedy
Wally hosted call in shows on WSB from1975 to 1978.
Garry Kinsey Garry Kinsey
Garry joined WSB in 1972 and hosted music programs as well as being partnered with John Moore on the WSB morning “Merry Go Round” in 1980. Kinsey left WSB in 1981.
Craig Lesser Craig Lesser
Craig was an announcer/newsman/talk show host from 1979 through October 1981. Over the period he was an afternoon and evening DJ, hourly news announcer, host of “Sound Off”, “The Quiz Kids, "Call Craig", and voice of the “Mystery Theatre”. Lesser was also the overnight taped voice on WSB FM. 
  Peter Maer
Peter joined WSB in 1971 and stayed until 1976. He won an Associated Press Award for an interview with MLK Sr. when the minister’s wife was murdered by a deranged gunman in June of 1974 as she sat at the Ebenezer Baptist Church organ.

  

  Russ McKinney
Russ was a member of the WSB news team in the mid 70's.

 

Kim Peterson Kim Peterson
Kim joined the WSB news department in 1974. He did news on the Bobby Harper morning show. He left in 1991.
Jerry Price Jerry Price
Jerry was an Atlanta police who also reported traffic on WSB from 1971 until 1975.
  Phillip Robuck
Phillip came to WSB in 1974 and was Personnel and Office Services Manager until 1980.

 

  Don Stephens
Don (aka Don Rosen) was an on-air personality from July 1978 to March 1980.

 

Dave Ross Dave Ross
Dave got his first job in radio when Aubrey Morris hired him in 1973 to be a police reporter. He stayed until 1978.
C.H.Sutton C. H. Sutton
C. H. was WSB chief engineer from1979 until 1980.
  James Tarbox
James joined WSB as a producer of “News '75” and “Sound Off” in 1978.  He left in 1979.

 

Mary Wright Mary Wright
Mary Wright worked at WSB Radio as a news anchor and reporter from 1970 until 1975.
Gorgon Van Mol Gordon Van Mol
Gordon career began in 1972 as a street reporter. Later he became assistant news director. He also served a stint as morning Skycopter traffic reporter and host of “Sound Off.”  He left WSB in 1978.
Richard Warner Richard Warner
Richard joined WSB in 1978 when he graduated from UGA. He stayed until 1980 anchoring the afternoon news block, “News ’75” and “Sound Off.”

Special Collections and Archives

Special Collections and Archives
Popular Music and Culture Collection

Phone: (404) 413-2880
Fax: (404) 413-2881
E-Mail: archives@gsu.edu

Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202

In Person:
Library South, 8th floor

Employee Directory