Skip to main content

Special Collections and Archives: Lucy Hargrett Draper Collections on Women's Rights, Advocacy and the Law : Donate to the Lucy Hargrett Draper Collection

Donate to the Lucy Hargrett Draper Collections

The Lucy Hargrett Draper Collections on Women's Rights, Advocacy and the Law document state and national efforts to achieve equality for women. Materials sought include biographical material, correspondence, diaries, books, ephemera, scrapbooks, research files, manuscripts, speeches, minutes, financial records, reports, promotional materials, surveys, newsletters and other printed material, photographs, videotapes, audio recordings and artifacts.

 

ORGANIZATIONS: FEDERAL STATE AND LOCAL

The collections seek the primary publications and printed materials issued by major national organizations and their local affiliates (especially Georgia and the Southeast) in support of the ERA. These organizations include but are not limited to:

National Women’s Party

American Association of University Women, 1921-

National Council of Negro Women, 1935-

National Organization for Women (NOW), 1966-

NOW Legal Defense and Education Fund, 1967- ; 1970 (formal incorporation)

National Federation of Business and Professional Women’s Club (BPW); began supporting ERA in 1937

Chicago Women’s Liberation Group, 1967-                                                                       

New York Radical Women, 1967-

Women’s Equity Action League (WEAL), 1968-

Federally Employed Women (FEW), 1968-    

Redstockings, 1969-

National Women’s Political Caucus (NWPC), 1971-

Georgia Women's Political Caucus

General Federation of Women’s Clubs; began supporting ERA in 1943

Zonta International

National Association of Women Lawyers (NAWL)

American Medical Women’s Association (AMWA)

 

INDIVIDUALS

Relevant writings, speeches, and other materials by and about key national spokespersons for women’s rights and ERA activists are sought. Such individuals include but are not limited to:

Alice Paul (National Women’s Party; authored 1923 Equal Rights Amendment)

Frances Perkins (Secretary of Labor 1933-)

Mary McLeod Bethune (founder and president (1935-1949) National Council of Negro Women)

Eleanor Roosevelt (chair, President’s Commission on the Status of Women)

Esther Peterson (assistant Secretary of Dept. of Labor, head of Women’s bureau)

Sylvia Roberts (attorney in Weeks v. Southern Bell, 1965)

Betty Friedan (first NOW president, 1966; led NOW’s 1970 Women’s Strike for Equality; founder of NWPC)

Kay Clarenbach (first chair of NOW board, 1966)

Aileen Hernandez (first executive vice president of NOW, 1966)

Richard Graham (first VP of NOW, 1966)

Caroline Davis (first secretary-treasurer of NOW, 1966)

Valerie Solanas (author of SCUM manifesto, 1967)

Jo Freeman (editor of Voice of the Women’s Liberation Movement, first independent radical newsletter begun in 1968)

Shirley Chisholm (first black women elected to the U.S. Congress, 1968; founder of NWPC, 1970)

Bella Abzug (founder of NWPC, 1971; chaired 1977 First National Women’s Conference)

Gloria Steinem (founder of NWPC, 1971; editor, Ms. Magazine, 1972)

Dr. JoAnn Evansgardner (coordinated 1971 NOW demonstrations at AT&T)

Ruth Bader Ginsburg (argued Reed v. Reed, 1971)

Edith Green (D-OR, introduced Education Amendments of 1972, including Title IX)

Pat Carbine (Publisher, Ms. Magazine, 1972)

Karen Nussbaum (founder of National Association of Working Women; Director of Women’s Bureau)

Marguerite Rawalt (BPW ERA-spokeswoman)

 

FEDERAL AGENCIES, COMMISSIONS, & EXECUTIVE BRANCH

Publications, reports, executive orders and other such publications related to the Equal Rights Amendment are sought, including ones from the following agencies:

Department of Labor, especially Women’s Bureau

President’s Commission on the Status of Women, 1961- (Executive Order 10980)

Citizen’s Advisory Council, 1964 (Executive Order)

Interdepartmental Committee on the Status of Women, 1964- (Executive Order)

Equal Employment Opportunity Commission

 

FEDERAL AND STATE LEGISLATION

Materials sought include copies of various printings, hearings reports, final versions, and other materials related to critical federal legislation related to equal rights for women, including, but not limited to:

Equal Rights Amendment (1923-1970)

National Recovery Act (1932)

Equal Rights Amendment, (1970-1982)

Equal Pay for Equal Work, (introduced 1945)

Equal Pay Act (1963), amending the Fair Labor Standards Act

Civil Rights Act of 1964 (Title VII)

Equal Employment Opportunity Act of 1972

Equal Pay Act extended, 1972

Education Amendments of 1972

Equal Pay Act of 1963, amended

Title IX (1972)

Equal Rights Amendment (1982-)

Breast Cancer Act (1998)

 

FEDERAL AND STATE LITIGATION

Materials documenting litigation and cases, particularly at the federal level, relating to equal rights for women are sought. Such cases include but not limited to:

Hoyt v. Florida, 368 U.S. 57 (1961)

Weeks v. Southern Bell, U.S. 5th Circuit Court of Appeals (1965)

Griswold v. Connecticut (1965)

Bowe v. Colgate-Palmolive (1969)

Reed v. Reed (1971)

Eisenstadt v. Baird (1972)

Roe v. Wade (1973)

Doe v. Bolton (1973)

Special Collections and Archives

Special Collections and Archives

Oral Histories at GSU

Lucy Hargrett Draper Collections on Women's Rights, Advocacy, and the Law

Donna Novak Coles Georgia Women's Movement Archives

Archives for Research on Women and Gender

Phone: (404) 413-2880
Fax: (404) 413-2881
E-Mail: archives@gsu.edu

Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202

In Person:
Library South, 8th floor

Employee Directory