Skip to main content

Special Collections and Archives: Through the Decades with GSU Women: 1950-1959

This timeline chronicles significant events of women at Georgia State University.

1950-1959

Note: Dates of siginificance for Georgia State University are shown in boldface print.

1950

Thirty percent of all women are in the paid labor force. Through the next several years the number of women in colleges drops, due to the influx of postwar men.


1953

Nell H. Trotter returns and becomes Assistant Dean of Students and Counselor of Women.


1954

Mu Rho Sigma, a national sorority for married or previously married women, is founded on campus. Alice Young, who became Assistant Dean for Student Services in 1978, is one of the founders.


1955

Name changes to Georgia State College of Business Administration. Nell Trotter's title changes from Assistant Dean of Students to Dean of Women.


Women earn an average of 69 cents for every one dollar earned by men.

    

1957

Kay Crouch completes her degree at Georgia State and is awarded the Sparks Scholarship for Graduate Study.


The number of women and men voting is about equal for the first time.


Special Collections and Archives

Special Collections and Archives

University Archives

Blogs About University History

Phone: (404) 413-2880
Fax: (404) 413-2881
E-Mail: archives@gsu.edu

Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202

In Person:
Library South, 8th floor

Employee Directory