Skip to main content

Special Collections and Archives: Through the Decades with GSU Women: 1940-1949

This timeline chronicles significant events of women at Georgia State University.

1940-1949

Note: Dates of siginificance for Georgia State University are shown in boldface print.

1940

Girls now represent more than half of all students in high school. (Of the total school-age population, 73% are in high school.)


One-fifth of white women and one-third of black women are wage earners. Sixty percent of the black women are domestics, compared with 10% of white women. Among Japanese American women workers, almost 38% are in agriculture and 24% in domestic service.


1941

The United States enters World War II, and a massive media campaign by government and industry persuades women to take jobs supporting the war effort, themselves, and their families. Almost 7 million women respond, with 2 million as industrial "Rosie the Riveters," and 400,000 joining the military.


1942

Throughout the war years, women's enrollment in high numbers allows the University System of Georgia Extension Center to remain open.


1943

A nursing cadet program is established at GSU.


1944

The G.I. Bill passes, providing educational benefits to World War II veterans, with women using only about 3% of those benefits.


1945

Women industrial workers begin to lose their jobs in large numbers to returning service men, although a survey shows 80% want to continue working. The Equal Pay for Equal Work bill is again introduced into Congress. It finally passes in 1963.


1947

The school becomes the Atlanta Division of the University of Georgia. Enrollment following the war is up. Nell H. Trotter leaves to raise family.


Special Collections and Archives

Special Collections and Archives

University Archives

Blogs About University History

Phone: (404) 413-2880
Fax: (404) 413-2881
E-Mail: archives@gsu.edu

Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202

In Person:
Library South, 8th floor

Employee Directory