Skip to main content

Special Collections and Archives: Through the Decades with GSU Women: 1930-1939

This timeline chronicles significant events of women at Georgia State University.


Note: Dates of siginificance for Georgia State University are shown in boldface print.


The Evening School becomes independent of Georgia Tech as the "University System of Georgia Evening School." Kathleen "Kay" Crouch enters as a part-time student and on December 1st Nell H. Trotter becomes a part-time instructor. Women's enrollment is less than 100.

Frances Perkins is the first woman in a Presidential cabinet, serving as Secretary of Labor during the entire Roosevelt presidency.


Nell H. Trotter receives a full time teaching appointment. The Woman's Club at the University System of Georgia Evening School is founded by the wives of faculty members.


The Evening School of Commerce becomes the University System of Georgia Extension Center in Atlanta. Nell H. Trotter becomes Dean of Women and Director of Job Placement. For the first time at the school, day classes are taught at what is called "Atlanta Junior College." Night classes are still taught at the "Georgia Evening College."

Margaret Mead's Sex and Temperament in Three Primitive Societies challenges sex-role assumptions.

Mary McLeod Bethune organizes the National Council of Negro Women as a lobbying coalition of black women's groups, and serves as president until 1949. The NCNW becomes foremost at fighting job discrimination, racism, and sexism.


Crystal Bird Fauset of Pennsylvania becomes the first black woman elected to a state legislature, by an overwhelmingly white district.

Special Collections and Archives

Special Collections and Archives

University Archives

Blogs About University History

Phone: (404) 413-2880
Fax: (404) 413-2881

Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202

In Person:
Library South, 8th floor

Employee Directory