Unique source of reliable and up-to-date information on the effects of interventions in health care. Designed to provide information and evidence to support decisions taken in health care and to inform those receiving care.
Developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the US National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH). This resource contains citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books in the fields of life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.
Embase (@ Emory)
Available at Emory University - take your Panther Card. You can go to any branch of the Emory libraries to use the database on a visitor computer station.
Embase "vs." MEDLINE
Embase currently contains over 28 million records from 1947 onwards. Currently 4,800 journals are indexed for Embase in 30 languages. Contains peer-reviewed literature, in-press publications and many conference abstracts. Contains more European literature than MEDLINE.
MEDLINEcurrently contains over 24 million references to journal articles from the 1940s onwards. Currently 5,200 journals in 37 languages are indexed for MEDLINE.
Of the 4,800 journals indexed in Embase, 1,800 are not indexed in MEDLINE. Similarly, of the 5,200 journals indexed in MEDLINE, 1,800 are not indexed in Embase.
You can search MEDLINE and Embase simultaneously through Embase. The amount of records in Embase includes the MEDLINE records. Records are mostly "de-duped".
Embase uses the Emtree thesaurus, similar to MEDLINE's MeSH thesaurus.
Review the Embase Quick Guide below before you go.
PubMed, MEDLINE, and Embase all let you access MEDLINE, the U.S. National Library of Medicine's biomedicine bibliographic database. However, there are several differences between the options, including additional citations in PubMed and, especially, Embase.