Skip to main content

Southern Labor Archives: Work n' Progress - Lessons and Stories: Acknowledgments and Copyright

Acknowledgments & Credits

Work n' Progress: Lessons and Stories in Southern Labor is a project of the Southern Labor Archives and the Department of Middle and Secondary Education and Instructional Technology, Georgia State University. The project was made possible by generous funding from the Joseph Jacobs Labor Fund and the Digital Historical Inquiry Project, funded by the Fund for the Improvement of Post-Secondary Improvement, U. S. Department of Education.

The project was originally developed by Marcia Fishman, Virginia Causey, and Robert Woodrum with input from Julia Marks Young, Robert Dinwiddie, Peter Roberts, Gary M. Fink, Michelle Haberland, and Pam Hackbart-Dean.

Individuals contributing to the revision, compilation, and success of the Work n' Progress: Lessons and Stories in Southern Labor include:

Georgia State University Library, Special Collections Department:
Lauren Kata, Archivist, Southern Labor Archives
Amanda Brown, Student Assistant

Georgia State University Library, Web Design Team:
Doug Goans, Web Development Librarian
Jackey Hong, Program Analyst

Georgia State University, College of Education, Department of Middle and Secondary Education and Instructional Technology:
John Lee, Assistant Professor of Social Studies Education
Laura Watson, Graduate Assistant
Jayne Cosson, Graduate Assistant

Special thanks to the institutions that donated the use of historical images, records, and other documents for the project:

Copyright

Southern Labor Archives Permissions
As a condition of permitting access to this site and to materials in its holdings, the Georgia State University Library Special Collections Department requires that users abide by its rules governing the use of reproductions made from its holdings. The permission of Georgia State University Library Special Collections Department is required in addition to any permission needed from the copyright owner.

Copyright Compliance
The images and documents used in the Southern Labor Archives Work 'n' Progress Website are protected by copyright and may not be republished or reposted online without permission of the rights holders. The Copyright Law of the United States (Title 17, United States Code) governs the making of reproductions of copyright material. The user of articles from this database is responsible for determining the applicability of those conditions. Copyright compliance is the responsibility of the user.

Copyright Holders
Georgia State University Library Special Collections would like to learn more about these images and hear from any copyright owners who are not properly identified on this Web site so that we may make the necessary corrections. Please include the photo identification number and/or image file name (e.g. L1995-13_1). You may call (404.413.2880) or send an e-mail (archives@gsu.edu).

Terms and Conditions of Use
Use of text, images and other content on this website are subject to the following terms and conditions:

CONTENT IS PROTECTED BY INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY LAWS

Unless otherwise cited, text and image files, audio and video clips, and other content on this website is the property of Georgia State University (a unit of the Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia), and may be protected by copyright and other restrictions as well. Copyrights and other proprietary rights in the content on this website may also be owned by individuals and entities other than, and in addition to, Georgia State University. GSU expressly prohibits the copying of any protected materials on this website, except for the purposes of fair use as defined in the copyright law, and as described below.

FAIR USE IS PERMITTED

Fair use of copyrighted material includes the use of protected materials for non-commercial educational purposes, such as teaching, scholarship, research, criticism, commentary, and news reporting. Unless otherwise noted, users who wish to download or print text and image files from this Web site for such uses may do so without the Georgia State University Library Special Collection Department's express permission, provided that they comply with the following conditions:
1. The content may only be used for personal, educational or noncommercial purposes;
2. Users must cite the author and source of the content as they would material from any printed work;
3. The citation must include all copyright information and other information associated with the content and the URL for the Work 'n' Progress website;
4. None of the content may be altered or modified;
5. Users must comply with all other terms or restrictions which may be applicable to the individual file, image or text;

COMMERCIAL USE IS RESTRICTED

Unauthorized commercial publication or exploitation of text, images or content of this website is specifically prohibited. Anyone wishing to use any of these files or images for commercial use, publication, or any purpose other than fair use as defined by law, must request and receive prior written permission from the Special Collections Department of Georgia State University Library. Permission to use materials for which GSU owns copyright is granted on a case-by-case basis, and a commercial usage fee may be assessed depending on the type and nature of the proposed use. For more information, please contact the Head of Special Collections at 404-413-2880.

LINKS TO THIRD PARTY WEBSITES

This site may contain links to third party websites. The linked sites are not under the control of Georgia State University Library and Georgia State University Library is not responsible for the contents of any linked website. These links are provided as a convenience only and shall not be construed as an endorsement of, sponsorship of, or affiliation with the linked website by Georgia State University.

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

May I put unaltered images, text, or content from this website on a closed or restricted database at my school or museum?
Yes, if there is no charge for the user and if electronic distribution is limited to educational use for a specific purpose or limited duration. The images must remain unaltered. All of the accompanying caption information must be included without alteration, and the citation should include the following URL: http://www.library.gsu.edu/spcoll/labor/wnp.asp.

May I put unaltered images, text, or content fro this website on my personal website?
Yes, so long as the site displays no advertisements and no sponsors, does not charge a fee for services, and does not offer any product or service for sale. The images must remain unaltered, and all of the accompanying caption information must be included without alteration, and the citation should include the URL specified above.

May I put images, text, or content from this website on another general access website, CD, DVD, flash drive, etc?
No, unless permission has been obtained in advance from Georgia State University Library Special Collections.

May I print selected images or text excerpts from this website for a school report?
Yes, if it is a personal or academic work, and not for publication in any medium. The images must remain unaltered, and all of the accompanying caption information must be included without alteration. This type of use is encouraged; all other forms of publication are expressly prohibited.

How do I obtain permission for other forms of publication?
Anyone wishing to use the text, images or content from this website for purposes other than as authorized herein must obtain prior written approval. Permission for such use is granted on a case-by-case basis, and a usage fee may be charged depending on the nature of the proposed use. For more information, please contact the Head of Special Collections at 404-413-2880 or archives@gsu.edu.

Special Collections and Archives

Special Collections and Archives
Southern Labor Archives

Phone: (404) 413-2880
Fax: (404) 413-2881
E-Mail: archives@gsu.edu

Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202

In Person:
Library South, 8th floor

Employee Directory