Banner Image

Special Collections and Archives: Georgia State University History: Timeline

A guide to the history of Georgia State University.

Timeline: 1910-Present

KEY:
Presidents

Institutional Names
Geographic Location


1910-1920

  • Georgia School of Technology-- Chemistry Building (1913 only) photo
  • Georgia School of Technology's Evening School of Commerce (1914-1933)
  • Walton Building (1914-1916)--corner of Walton St. NW & Cone St. photo, 1973
  • Peachtree (or City) Arcade (1917-1921)--Peachtree St. [at Wall St. SE] photo,1950s

1921-1930

  • Murphy Building--18 Auburn Ave., corner of Pryor St. and Auburn Ave. (1921-1926)
  • 106 Forsyth Street NW (1926-1931)
  • George Sparks, Director and later President (1928-1957) photo audio

1931-1940

  • 223 Walton Street NW (renovated)--the first building owned (1931-1938) photo
  • 223 Walton Street NW--old Sheltering Arms Building, prior to renovation (1930-31) photo
  • University System of Georgia Evening School (1933-1935) [independent, under new Board of Regents]
  • 160-168 (entrance at 162) Luckie Street NW (1938-1946) photo
  • University Extension Center in Atlanta (1935-1947) [independent, under new Board of Regents]
    • a) Georgia Evening College (Night)
    • b) Atlanta Junior College (Day Division)

1941-1950

  • Ivy St. Garage/Bolling-Jones Building [now Kell Hall], 24 Ivy Street SE--corner of Ivy St. and Exchange Place (1946-present) photo
  • Gymnasium-Auditorium--behind Kell Hall (1947)
  • Indian Creek Lodge (1947/1948)
  • Atlanta Division of the University of Georgia (1947-1955)

1951-1960 *

  • Georgia State College of Business Administration (1955-1961) [independent]
  • Noah Langdale, President (1957-1988) photo

1961-1970

  • Georgia State College (1961-1969)
  • Georgia State University (1969-present)

1971-1990

  • William Suttles, President (1988-1989) photo
  • John Palms, President (1989-1991) photo

1991-present

  • Sherman Day, Acting President (1991-1992) photo
  • Carl Patton, President (1992-2008) photo
  • Mark Becker, President (2009-present) photo

 

 

* GSU expanded rapidly from the 1960s forward. See "Building Timeline" for details.

Special Collections and Archives

Special Collections and Archives

University Archives

Blogs About University History

Blogs About University Centennial

Phone: (404) 413-2880
Fax: (404) 413-2881
E-Mail: archives@gsu.edu

Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202

In Person:
Library South, 8th floor

Employee Directory