Skip to main content

Comparative Study of Mysticism: Find Articles

Research tools and tips for the study of mysticism in various religious traditions


Use the following tutorials to learn more about how to locate articles in journal and other periodical sources.

What is peer review?

  A peer reviewed journal article is an article that has been reviewed and chosen for publication by the author's professional peers. These peers are scholars in the field, who sit on the editorial board of a journal which is usually published by a professional organization or a university press. Peer reviewed articles can also be known as scholarly or refereed articles. 

Citation Searches

Need to locate an online version of an article for which you already have the citation? Try the library's

Citation Linker

To use:

  • Enter as much information as you have about the article (title, journal name, volume, issue, etc.) into the form and click GO.
  • From the resulting page, click on the name of the database which includes the year of the article you need.
  • Follow the available options to locate the article.

Evaluating Articles

Finding articles on your topic is just one step in the research process.

After locating a few articles you should evaluate them to determine whether they are suitable to use for your research project. The following tutorial provides access to pages telling you how to do just that.

Religious Studies Subject Specific Article Databases

Use the following databases to locate articles specific to religious studies topics.

Other Subject Specific Article Databases

You may need to search the following non-religious studies subject databases to ensure that you are locating all of the relevant information on your toipic. The following are just a few of the many subject-specific databases available to you through the library. To locate additional databases, consult the library's list of Databases by Name, A-Z.

General Article Databases (covering multiple subject areas)

The following multi-discliplinary databases also contain scholarly articles pertinent to research in religious studies.

Still not finding what you need?

 Try the Library's new Discover Search.

Discover searches across most of the library's databases and holdings using one simple search tool.

Advanced Discover Search or use the search box below.

GSU Library's Discover Search
Limit Your Results:

Google Scholar

Still need more info? Try searching:

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines, including theses, books, abstracts and articles.

When you're on campus Google Scholar will indicate which articles are available to you from the various journals subscribed to by the library and will provide you with a link to access them. Note, this only works when you are accessing Google Scholar from an on-campus computer. It will not work from off-campus.

Database Search Tips

1. Always use the Library website to access the Library's subscription databases.

2. For off-campus access, enter your Campus ID and Password at the prompt.

3. Use the Advanced Search option within the database you are using to achieve the best results.

4.Choose a topic and/or decide what question you're trying to answer. Then develop a list of search terms based on your topic/question.

5. Keep your search terms brief and concise. The more words you enter into a database search box, the fewer results you will retrieve.

6. Check your spelling. Library databases do not correct spelling errors.

7. If your first set of search terms doesn't retrieve any results, try using related words or synonyms that describe your topic.

8. You can search for different forms of a word (different word endings of the same word), by typing the first few letters followed by an asterisk. Example:

  • myst* will search for mystic, mystics, mystical, mysticism, mystagogue, etc.

9. Use double quotation marks around two or more words to search as a phrase. Example:

  • “divine law" 

10. Use the connecting words AND and OR to narrow or broaden your search. Examples:

  • faith AND belief - to search for articles that include both terms (narrows the search results)
  • faith OR belief - to search for articles that contain either term (broadens the search results)

11. You can create more complex searches by using the words AND, OR, NOT, in combination with parentheses. Example:

  • Augustine AND Ostia AND (vision OR ascent)

12. If don’t see a full-text link (HTML full text or PDF), try clicking on the

button near the citation to the article. Clicking this button will check for full text availability outside of the database you are currently searching. A new window will open and if the full text is available you will see a Full Text Online link. Click on the link to access the full text of the article. If no full text is available you may be able to request a copy of the article through the library's free Interlibrary Loan service.

Ask a Librarian for help if you can't find what you need!