Skip to main content

Primary Sources: English Studies: Periodicals

Primary sources for literature and language

Key bibliographies

Identify periodical titles

American Periodicals 1741-1900 - lists periodicals we have in microfilm and online;
at Research Support Desk, Ref. Z6951 .H65

African-American Newspapers and Periodicals

Ref. Z6944.N39 A37 1998

British Literary Magazines

Ref. PN5124.L6 B74 1983

Hispanic periodicals in the United States, origins to 1960
PN4885.S75 K36 1999

Find more bibliographies by including the words periodicals (or newspapers) and bibliography as subject terms in your search.

Print indexes

Find articles

Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature - 1902-2002 Ref. AI3 .R48(print) Now online! Reader's Guide Retrospective, 1890-1982

The Wellesley index to Victorian periodicals, 1824-1900- This print index provides researchers access to selected periodicals by subject.

Finding periodicals for your project

Periodicals - magazines, journals, and newspapers - written during the time period under study are excellent primary sources.

Identify useful periodicals for your topic:

  • Check magazine/newspaper directories and bibliographies
  • Skim footnotes in the secondary literature for periodical titles
  • Consult histories of the press or similar works

Search library catalogs for periodical titles to locate print, microfilm or online copies.

For journal holdings in GIL, use the Journals tab on the homepage, or, in Classic GIL, the Exact Journal Title search.

To find individual articles use an index. Or, search a fulltext database that contains your periodical.

Sometimes, historians use newpapers or magazines that don't have an index and aren't available online. In this case, begin by browsing key dates.

Fulltext databases - historical magazines/journals

(Newspaper collections are listed separately under the Newspapers tab above.)

Online Indexes

These online indexes provide citations to articles in magazines or newspapers. Check GIL or GIL-Find to see if we have the periodical, You may request articles not owned by GSU through Interlibrary Loan

19th Century Masterfile- Searchable by keyword or author, this database will provide article citations. 

 Periodicals Index Online

Reader's Guide Retrospective, (1890-1982)- This index is now online. Follow the FindIt@GSU links to find print, microform, or online editions of magazines.

Humanities Librarian

Leslie Madden's picture
Leslie Madden
Library South
Suite 542