Skip to main content

Southern Labor Archives: A Guide to Topics: African-Americans in Labor

African-American Collections in the Southern Labor Archives

The collections listed below are for unions with primarily African-American leaders or membership, or include documentation of issues important to African-Americans in the labor movement and in general.

Records (collections created by organizations)

AFL-CIO Civil Rights Department, Southeastern Region records, 1966-1986 [L1988-22]

AFL-CIO Civil Rights Department, Southeastern Office records, 1974-1984 [L1985-16]

AFL-CIO Civil Rights Department, Southern Region records, 1963-1972 [L1973-05]

AFL-CIO Civil Rights Department, Southern Office records, 1964-1979 [L1983-26]

AFL-CIO Southern Area Civil Rights Department records, 1962-1988 [L1989-17]

Amalgamated Meat Cutters and Butcher Workmen of North America, Local 525 (Asheville, N.C.) records, 1957-1975 [L1974-30]

Amalgamated Transit Union, Division 732 Collection, 1919-1981 [L1982-02]

American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees, Local 1644 (Atlanta, Ga.), records, 1949-2001 [L1986-44]

Communications Workers of America, Local 3204 (Atlanta, Ga.) records [L1972-59]

Grady Hospital School of Nursing records, 1908-1984 [L1984-47]

International Woodworkers of America, District 4 Records, 1943-1959 [L1973-22]

Mississippi State AFL-CIO records, 1947-1986 [L1986-26]

Southern Conference Educational Fund records, 1958-1985 [L1991-13]

United Food and Commercial Workers, Local 525 (Asheville, N.C.), records, 1944-1986 [L1986-22]

Papers (collections created by individuals)

Stetson Kennedy papers, 1933-1981 [L1979-37]

Marc R. Levinson papers, 1975-1978 [L1983-01]

M. H. Ross papers, 1916-1987 [L2001-05]

Emory F. Via papers, 1936-1987 [L1989-34]

Collections (artificially assembled groups of documents)

Southern Labor Archives Pamphlet Collection

Southern Labor Archives Photograph Collection

Southern Labor Archives Biography Files

Oral Histories

Voices of Labor Oral History Project

Grady School of Nursing Oral History Project (no online access; ask archivist)

 

African American Collections in Special Collections and Archives

Georgia Government Documentation Project

  • The Georgia Government Document Project (GGDP) details that state’s political and social history through more than 250 oral histories and manuscript collections. The Georgia Government Documentation Project includes interviews with former governors, legislators, political activists, civil rights leaders, media figures, lawyers, social crusaders, judges, and numerous other public figures. These men and women shaped the history of Georgia during the 20th century, and the GGDP provides researchers with a rare glimpse at their stories in their own words. In addition the GGDP includes 3 manuscript collections that touch on Georgia politics.
  • Some of the interviews have been digitized and the audio or transcripts can be found in GSU Library's Digital Collections.

Photographic Collections

After Malcolm - Islam and the Black Freedom Struggle

  • The After Malcolm Research Collective documents African American Muslim contributions to the  struggle for justice in the United States. Much more than Malcolm X and Muhammad Ali, this is a story of race, religion, and reconciliation central to American history. The lives and lessons captured here provide valuable lessons to help overcome social and political divisions today.

    Items in this collection were loaned to Georgia State University for digitization, and the university does not own physical copies or hold the copyright for any of the exhibited materials. The views expressed in the content presented here do not necessarily reflect the views of Georgia State University, its students, faculty or staff.

The Great Speckled Bird

  • The Great Speckled Bird was one of several underground newspapers that appeared in the United States in the 1960s. Published in Atlanta from 1968 to 1976, The Bird, as it was commonly known, stood out among the alternative press for the quality of its writing, its cover art and its fearless opinions and reporting on a range of topics—national and local politics, the counterculture, women’s issues, gay liberation, reproductive choice, the Black Power movement, prison reform, music, art…The Bird was a new, radical voice from the South.

Georgia State University Archives