Skip to main content

Southern Labor Archives: Archives of the International Association of Machinists and Aerospace Workers: IAM Digitized Publications

Digitized Publications

PROJECT HISTORY

Georgia State University Library Southern Labor Archives is the only known repository outside of International Association of Machinists and Aerospace Workers Headquarters to have a complete run of the Machinists’ Monthly Journal, the IAMAW’s official journal published from 1889 to 1956, and The Machinist, a newspaper published from 1946 to 1994. Containing images and stories of American and Canadian workers, these publications document activities of the union and its local lodges for over a century. Ultimately, these journals provide a unique snapshot of the union and its members’ changing roles in the workplace and society.

With generous financial support from the International Association of Machinists and Aerospace Workers, microfilming and digitizing these journals was completed in 2005. The Southern Labor Archives realized two goals: to create preservation copies of the volumes and to provide searchable online versions of the journal and newspaper for interested readers all over the world.

VIEWING INSTRUCTIONS

PDF for Printing and Viewing: Each page has been converted into the Adobe Acrobat PDF format. Using the free Adobe Acrobat Reader, this page can be printed to a laser printer at 300dpi resolution. Get Adobe Acrobat Reader.

COPYRIGHT

Southern Labor Archives Permissions
As a condition of permitting access to this site and to materials in its holdings, the Southern Labor Archives requires that users abide by its rules governing the use of reproductions made from its holdings. The permission of the Southern Labor Archives is required in addition to any permission needed from the copyright owner.

Copyright Compliance
The journals and images in the Southern Labor Archives collections are protected by copyright and may not be republished without permission of the rights holders. The Copyright Law of the United States (Title 17, United States Code) governs the making of reproductions of copyright material. The user of articles from this database is responsible for determining the applicability of those conditions. Copyright compliance is the responsibility of the user.

QUESTIONS

The Southern Labor Archives, Special Collections Department at Georgia State University Library welcomes your queries relating to the Machinists’ Monthly Journal, The Machinist or the website. Please contact the labor archivist with specific questions.

Special Collections and Archives

Special Collections and Archives
Southern Labor Archives
Archives of the IAM

Phone: (404) 413-2880
Fax: (404) 413-2881
E-Mail: archives@gsu.edu

Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202

In Person:
Library South, 8th floor

Employee Directory