Skip to main content

Special Collections and Archives: Georgia Government Documentation Project: K

A guide to the Georgia Government Documentation Project oral history collection.

Series K. Stetson Kennedy: Applied Folklore and Cultural Advocacy

Series K. Stetson Kennedy: Applied Folklore and Cultural Advocacy

Interviews by Peggy Bulger.

The interviews in this series were used by Margaret Bulger as part of "Stetson Kennedy: Applied Folklore and Cultural Advocacy," her Ph.D. dissertation at the University of Pennsylvania in 1992.

These interviews are Restricted. Permission from the donar is required for access. Please contact Special Collections to arrange access.

Series K Oral Histories

Duke, Daniel (P1990-03)

Interviewed by: Peggy Bulger

February 2, 1990

15 pp.

No Tape

Daniel Duke (1913-1999) served as Assistant Solicitor General of Georgia from 1939‑41 and Assistant Attorney General of Georgia from 1944‑46.

SEE also Duke interview in series B.

Among topics discussed: Nazis in Atlanta; Dr. James Shelton; infiltrating the "Colombians"; the Ike Gaskin murder trial; Colony Woods; Ku Klux Klan floggings; James A. Collscott; "quo ranto"; revoking the charter of the Ku Klux Klan; Stetson Kennedy undercover; Drew Pearson; publicity; the death of the Ku Klux Klan as a national institution; Stetson Kennedy and the state payroll; the Klan as an enforcer of community standards and as an extra‑legal police force; convictions in cases involving the Ku Klux Klan; Jimmy Venable; media perceptions; the folklore within the Ku Klux Klan; passwords; the Kloran; Superman; the books of Stetson Kennedy.


Durr, Virginia (P1990-03)

Interviewed by: Peggy Bulger

March 9, 1990

12 pp.

No Tape

Virginia Durr (1903-1999) is a political activist and was active in early Civil Rights movement.

Among topics discussed: Southern Conference For Human Welfare; Lucy Randolph Mason; John L. Lewis; CIO; Joe Gelders; Southern Policy Committee; Frank Graham; Bull Connor; Hugo Black; red‑baiting; race‑baiting; changing nature of race relations in the South; Lillian Smith; Killers of a Dream; anti‑Communist forces at the Southern Conference.




Horton, Myles (P1990-03)

Interviewed by: Peggy Bulger

December 15, 1989

9 pp.

No Tape

Myles Horton (1905-1990) founded the Highlander Folk School and was active in the early Civil Rights movement.

Among topics discussed: Southern Conference For Human Welfare; CIO organizing; black and white student interaction; Southern Exposure; Operation Dixie and Highlander Folk Center; Frank Graham; Palmetto Country; Zora Neale Hurston; Zilphia Horton; role of folk music; legal attacks on Highlander; Woody Guthrie; Pete Seeger; Kennedy's problems with U.S. immigration officials; use of popular language; personal assessment of Kennedy; Alan Lomax.



Kennedy, Stetson (P1990-03)

Interviewed by: Peggy Bulger

October 7, 1988

22 pp.

Stetson Kennedy (1916-2011) is author of numerous books including I Rode With the Ku Klux Klan, Southern Exposure, and Jim Crow Guide.

Among topics discussed: Self‑described human rights activist; work with Office of Economic Opportunity in Jacksonville; Florida Poor People's Conference; song collecting; American education system and folklore; CIO organizing in Florida; Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings; student activism at the University of Florida; involvement with Works Project Administration; Key West experiences; Mario Sanchez; Ernest Hemingway; oral culture and the Florida Keys; PM magazine; Pete Seeger; Woody Guthrie; Langston Hughes; Alan Lomax; Ollie Harrington; Bill McGuire; Marion Pulfy; John Henry Faulk; political censuring of dialect.

Kennedy, Stetson (P1990-03)

Interviewed by: Peggy Bulger

November 11, 1988

77 pp.

Among topics discussed: Use of folklore for political ends; youth in Jacksonville, Florida; interest in folk speech; experience in newspaper business; training as a writer; early political influences and experiences; Great Depression; "back to the land" ideas; southern regionalism; Southern Conference for Human Welfare; political activism in college; Key West experiences and lifestyle; political education; exposure to Hispanic culture; Cuban community in Key West; Federal Writers Project; Florida Guide; Zora Neale Hurston; turpentine camps; ex‑slave interviews; Palmetto Country; Robert Cornwell; Bob Edwards; Worker's Alliance; CIO organizing in Florida; Junta des La Cultura Espanola; David Lord; Apopka Chief; Florida Alligator; Pittsburgh Courier; Zora Neale Hurston; George S. Mitchell; CIO organizing; use of folk culture for "anti‑folk" purposes; voting restrictions in the South; Eugene Talmadge; Ellis Arnall; Lillian Smith; South Today; Paul Snelling; Senator Theodore Bilbo; race "etiquette" in the South; Southern Conference for Human Welfare; Bull Connor; Southern Patriot; Jim Dombrowski; Clark Foreman; House on Un‑American Activities; Don West; R.E. Starnes; Henry Wallace campaign; Myles Horton; Highlander Folk School; Operation Dixie; Vann Bittner; folk song and political protest; Pete Seeger; Woody Guthrie; Bob Dylan; appeals to racism in north Florida jury trials; middle class folklorists; Florida Folklife Festival; Friends of Florida Folk; institutionalization of folklore; Ben Botkin; exclusion of ethnic folklore from the mainstream; urban folklore; evolution of folk culture; future of folklore as a discipline; introduction of folklore into the classroom; relevance of folklore in contemporary life.

Kennedy, Stetson (P1990-03)

Interviewed by: Peggy Bulger

November 26, 1988

38 pp.

No Tape

Among topics discussed: Involvement with American folkways series; folklore "informants"; folklore ethics; investigation of pro‑Nazi groups ("White Front") in Miami; President Warren Harding and Ku Klux Klan; The Four Freedoms Down South; John Ray Carlson's Undercover; Kennedy alias John Perkins; Southern Outlook; religious symbolism of the Klan; Roy Harris; Cracker Party; Eugene Talmadge; Georgia Bankers Association; Theodore Bilbo; Lillian Smith's Colorblind; Fair Employment Practices Committee; Estes Kefauver; The Statesman; Witherspoon Dodge; Josephine Wilkins; Committee for Georgia; Maggie Fisher; Lucy Randolph Mason; Josephus Daniels; Nelson Poindexter; St. Petersburg Times; Ruth Russell Royale Vance; Francis Coe; use of folklore in CIO organizing; George Mitchell; Bill McGuire; People's Songs House; Koinonia;  thoughts on communal living; Langston Hughes; Zora Neale Hurston; Ollie Harrington; Elizabeth Lomax; Woody Guthrie; Pete Seeger.

Kennedy, Stetson (P1990-03)

Interviewed by: Peggy Bulger

December 17, 1988

30 pp.

Among topics discussed: Florida Folklife Bureau; institutionalized culture; trends in American folk culture; anti‑fascist efforts; Official Language Amendment in Florida; use of folklore in school curriculum; media and folk culture; Folk Tax; government and culture; survival of folk culture; Avalardo Bocent; American labor unions and voting.

Kennedy, Stetson (P1990-03)

Interviewed by: Peggy Bulger

December 31, 1988

69 pp.

Among topics discussed: Folklore in Europe; racism in France; Peking Opera; traditional music and political struggle; television and international cultural development; religion and shared folk custom; religious culture in Russia; exposure to Gypsy culture in Romania and Hungary; gypsy folklore; anti‑gypsy sentiment; anti‑Semitism; Hungarian government's support of folklore; American jazz in Paris; Jean Paul Sartre; Pete Seeger; Pittsburgh Courier; "Sonny Boy" cartoon; Jacksonville Times‑Union; bolito and numbers game; cultural chauvinism; "high tech" folk culture; anthropologists and folklore; folklorists and objectivity; Zora Neale Hurston; Florida Folklore Society; Florida Historical Society; recent developments in folk discipline; "national cultural rights" in China; use of dialect; Richard Wright; The Florida Negro; political terminology.

Special Collections and Archives

Special Collections and Archives

Finding Aid

Phone: (404) 413-2880
Fax: (404) 413-2881
E-Mail: archives@gsu.edu

Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202

In Person:
Library South, 8th floor

Employee Directory