Skip to main content

Special Collections and Archives: Georgia Government Documentation Project: I

A guide to the Georgia Government Documentation Project oral history collection.

Series I. Black Empowerment in Burke County (Ga.)

Series I. Black Empowerment in Burke County (P2000-11)

Interviews by Tena Bledsoe

The interviews in this collection were used in large part by Tena Bledsoe in her article "Burke County Today," which appeared in the Fall 1986 issue of Georgia Poverty Journal, a publication of the Georgia Legal Services Program.

For Availability Information, see the Finding Aid.

Series I Oral Histories

Cullen, Robert (P1987-09)

Interviewed by: Tena Bledsoe

1985/1986

58 pp.

Robert Cullen served as an attorney in Burke County, worked for Georgia Legal Services and was a  Civil Rights advocate.

Among topics discussed: Early law career in Burke county; race relations; black protests regarding discrimination in Burke County (winter 1974‑75); desegregation of recreation board; Burke County last county in United States to integrate public schools; Davis v. Wynn; voting rights suit Against Waynesboro; Herman Lodge's efforts for civil rights; descriptions of segregation, discrimination in Burke County; White v. Register; City of Mobile v. Bolden; race riot 1984.

Hopper, Billy (P1986-08)

Interviewed by: Tena Bledsoe

September 1985

18 pp.

Billy Hopper served as the Burke County administrator.

Among topics discussed: Assessment of current county commission; racial division on commission; voting rights litigation; impressions of the Supreme Court; Freeman Leverett; comparison of district system and at‑large system; personalities on county commission; Plant Vogle; tax digest; county budget.

Lodge, Herman (P1986-09)

Interviewed by: Tena Bledsoe

1985

141 pp.

Herman Lodge (1929-2005) has served on the Burke County Commission from 1982 until his death, and was involved in several landmark voting rights cases during the 1970's and '80's, including Lodge v. Buxton and Lodge v. Rogers.

See Herman Lodge Interview in Series Q. Georgia Legal Services.

Among topics discussed: Changes in county government.; black county employees; cultural affairs programs; California Readiness Tests; black history in Burke County; recreation; county hospital; health department; black/white relations; Citizens for Better Government; new county jail; Plant Vogle; emergency preparedness; fire department; county board of education; Reverend Ellis; county schools; criticism of school board; county welfare board; first county commission meeting. Civil Rights organizations; Larry Gardner; race riots; county human rights commission; Frances Pauley; Burke County Improvement Association; Reverend Ellis; Dr. Stimpson; school desegregation; Bill Holmes; School desegregation; voter registration; Henry McNeal Turner; reconstruction history; Burke County Improvement Association; Burke County Coalition, Inc.; Miss Black Burke County beauty contest; jury lawsuit; jury experience; voting rights lawsuit; Freeman Leverett; Supreme Court decision; Supreme Court memories; whites involved in lawsuit; family background; growing up in the depression; family genealogy; race relations in the 1930s; growing up in Burke County; army life; return to Burke County.

Special Collections and Archives

Special Collections and Archives

Finding Aid

Phone: (404) 413-2880
Fax: (404) 413-2881
E-Mail: archives@gsu.edu

Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202

In Person:
Library South, 8th floor

Employee Directory