Skip to main content

Special Collections and Archives: Georgia Government Documentation Project: D

A guide to the Georgia Government Documentation Project oral history collection.

Series D. Politics and the Media

D. Politics and the Media (P2000-02)

The interviews in this series were conducted with noted print and broadcast journalists who covered politics in Georgia from the 1930s to the present.

For Availability Information, see the Finding Aid.

Series D Oral Histories

Moore, Ray (P1987-08)

Interviewed by: Cliff Kuhn

May 8, 1987

76 pp.

Ray Moore (b. 1922) was the news director for WSB TV‑Channel 2 in Atlanta.

Among topics discussed:  Early political memories; family background; early newspaper work; Columbia University; army life in Augusta; Battle of the Bulge; Gene Patterson; early television and radio influences; H.V. Caldenborne; WOR; early radio career; WSB; Atlanta radio in the fifties; initial television work; Joe Fain; older cameras; television ratings; editorial documentary on school desegregation crisis; HOPE; Sibley Commission; prison documentary; documentary on state mental hospital; newspaper coverage of state mental hospital; investigative reporting; Jack Nelson; John Pennington; Atlanta press; transformation of news department; WSB's innovations; Clifford Baldowski; Bill Shipp; Bill McCanklen; New Orleans school desegregation; Atlanta's desegregation; newsmen and commercial advertisements; Tom Brokaw; NBC; non‑visual coverage of bus sit‑ins; the desegregation of the University of Georgia; riots and the media; distrust of the media during the civil rights movement; Taliaferro County; Martin Luther King Jr.;  basis for opinions; media coverage as community service; Ralph McGill; role of television in civil rights movement; Hosea Williams in Forsyth County, Georgia; Lonnie King and the student sit‑ins; the desegregation of churches; television's blame as provocateur during civil rights movement; Nashville busing; Albany movement; covering the Southeast for the networks.

 

Moore, Ray (P1987-08)

Interviewed by: Cliff Kuhn

June 18, 1987

No Transcript

Among topics discussed:  1970 governor's race; Ernest Vandiver; Sibley Commission; Grady High School hearings; sound advances in television cameras; Highlander Folk School; Jack O'Dell; James Davis; Morris Abram; political use of television in the 1950's; televised political Barbecue in 1966; Jimmy Bentley‑Zack Cravey‑Bruce Edwards race for Comptroller General; the 1966 governor's race; "Jimmy Who?"; the 1974 governor's race; Marvin Griffin; Herman Talmadge; computer projections on election night; Sam Massell election.

 

Nelson, Jack (P1993-01)

Interviewed by: Cliff Kuhn and Paul Shields

October 30, 1993

71 pp.

Jack Nelson (1929-2009), head of the Washington Bureau for the Los Angeles Times,  is a former reporter for the Atlanta Constitution and winner of the 1960 Pulitzer Prize for community service.

Among topics discussed:  Family background; first newspaper jobs; beginnings as investigative reporter; Slim Dykes; Camp Stewart reporting; protection from the Army; Phoenix City; lottery in Atlanta in 1957; Lieutenant Marion Jenkins; Ralph McGill; William Hartsfield; Bill Fields; Horace Ingram's garage; the lottery queen, Marla Hodges; Milledgeville hospital investigation; drafting affidavits; Wallace Gibson; nurse performing surgery; Zeb Doyle; Superintendent Dr. Peacock; Schafer Committee; state welfare department; Dr. Joe Cones; Buford Quinn; B. Brooks; sources for investigation; Dr. Erville McKinnon; reforms after story; Dr. Corbett Thigpen; Dr. Benny Holland; Athens vice story; photographer Bill Young; visiting the brothels; Pulitzer Prize; nominated for awards; corruption in Marvin Griffin administration; Baxter road story; Cheney Griffin; Candler Jones purchasing scandal;  Caribe shipping line; Marvin Griffin; intimidation; Jimmy Carter.

 

Shipp, Bill (P1987-05)

Interviewed by: Cliff Kuhn

April 22, 1987

Bill Shipp (b. 1933) has worked as a reporter, editor, and columnist for the Atlanta Constitution and for Newsday.

Among topics discussed:  Early career; Horace Ward case; Red and Black; racial politics; Board of Regents and student newspaper; Shipp's ostracism at UGA; Ralph McGill; army career; the Atlanta Constitution during the 1960's; Gene Patterson; Highlander Folk School; left wing elements of the civil rights movement; Jack O'Dell; coverage of the civil rights movement; University of Mississippi desegregation; Selma; General Walker; political rivalries at the Constitution; Public Accommodations Act; the Constitution's impact; Robert Woodruff; Ralph McGill and the reporting staff; McGill and the Talmadges; the Albany Movement; Laurie Pritchett; Martin Luther King Jr.; 1954 Morris Abram‑Jim Davis congressional race; the end of the county unit system; Carl Sanders; Jimmy Carter; Eugene Talmadge; continuing rural domination of Georgia politics; the General Assembly; George L. Smith; First Atlanta Bank; Cheney Griffin; Marvin Griffin; "Joree" birds; Jack Nelson's Pulitzer Prize; Ernest Vandiver; highway department corruption; Marion Gaines's story on liquor monopolies in Atlanta; Marvin Griffin and the Atlanta press; Herman Talmadge; "B" Brooks; Bill Burson and The Statesman; The Constitution's role in Herman Talmadge's 1980 defeat; Zell Miller; politicians courting the black vote; Wyche Fowler; the rise of the Republican Party in Georgia; the 1970 governor's race; Charles Rafshoon; the media in political campaigns; Lester Maddox; Carl Sanders; Jimmy Carter's administration; Reg Murphy; education in Georgia; southern governors; the Republican Party; Wyche Fowler; national Republican strategy; campaign money.

 

Shipp, Bill (P1987-05)

Interviewed by: Cliff Kuhn

May 7, 1987

66 pp.

Among topics discussed:  University of Mississippi riot; role of the media; inaccuracies in reporting; Selma; animosity towards the media; internal dynamics of Atlanta Constitution; Ralph McGill; George Biggers; conflicts over editorials; Jack Tarver; Gene Patterson; Jack Nelson; Civil Rights coverage; Richard Russell; Atlanta Constitution's political coverage; Ivan Allen; Herbert Jenkins; lottery corruption; investigative reporting; Jack Nelson; Milledgeville State Hospital; William B. Hartsfield; desegregation of Atlanta city schools; pressure of advertisers shaping news coverage; Bill Fields; Murder at Broad River Bridge; Newsday; use of FBI to gain story leads; Environmental Protection Agency; Georgia Conservancy; Boulevard, Georgia Baptist Hospital riot; wayne Williams; Atlanta media's relationship with national media; changes in Constitution's political coverage; Watergate; media's influence on politics; television; campaign financing; Bobby Troutman; John Kennedy's 1960 presidential campaign; Griffin Bell; Taxi Smith; county unit system.

 

Sibley, Celestine (P1986-07)

Interviewed by: Cliff Kuhn

March 4, 1987

34 pp.

Celestine Sibley (1914-1999) has worked as a journalist and columnist for the Atlanta Constitution since 1941.

Among topics discussed:  Early news reporting in Mobile, Alabama; mother's influence; early political memories; The Pensacola News; the news and the New Deal; the reputation of the Atlanta Constitution; the Constitution's reporting staff during World War II; reporting the federal beat; local news coverage during the war; reporting the city hall beat; mentors; Ralph McGill.

 

Sibley, Celestine (P1986-07)

Interviewed by: Cliff Kuhn

March 5, 1987

No Transcript

Among topics discussed:  William Hartsfield; the "three horsemen" (George L. Smith, Frank Twitty and Jack Ray;) Marvin Griffin; M.L. St. John; three‑governor controversy; James Carmichael; Eugene Talmadge; political factions at the Atlanta Constitution; Ralph McGill in south Georgia; George L. Smith; the Leo Frank case; Fred Hand; 1962 governor's race; Lester Maddox; Bobby Rowan; the fire truck in Enigma, Georgia; the Roscoe Dean‑Bobby Rowan feud; Milledgeville State Hospital hearings; reporters at the State Capital; Lamar Ball; the political hotels in Atlanta; extra‑curricular activities during legislative session; modern political reporters; non‑print media; television's effect on politicians; Ernest Vandiver and desegregation; the county unit system; Grace Hamilton; Willie Mae; Roy Harris; HOPE; Eugene Talmadge; Herman Talmadge; Watergate; Richard Nixon; newspaper exposes; Julian Bond.

 

Williams, Carey (P1989-05)

Interviewed by: Cliff Kuhn

February 23, 1989

48 pp.

Carey Williams was editor of the Greensboro News‑Herald and served on the University of Georgia Board of Regents from 1949 to 1979.

Among topics discussed:  Family background; University of Georgia; Red and Black; 1936 Senate race; Eugene Talmadge; Joe Boone; Roy McGinty; J.J. Brown; Franklin Roosevelt; Eugene Talmadge and his speaking style; political rallies; Atlanta press; 1942 governor's race; county unit system; Roy Harris; Miles Walker Lewis; The Statesman; W.O. "B" Brooks; William Kimbrough; Herman Talmadge; the State Board of Education; Ellis Arnall; the desegregation of the University of Georgia; Horace Ward; Ernest Vandiver; the Georgia Tech Sugar Bowl controversy; Marvin Griffin; Cheney Griffin; three‑governor controversy; soliciting votes; E.D. Rivers; Williams's support of Griffin and Vandiver; honorary commission; 1966 governor's race; resignation from Board of Regents; changes in education; Herman Talmadge; Mack Mattingly; Atlanta Press; Roy Harris; Williams' changing outlook; Roy Harris's Cracker Party; changes in newspapers; changes in campaigns; Lester Maddox; George Whitman; Eugene Talmadge; Osgood Williams; Crawford Pilcher; changes in politics.

 

Special Collections and Archives

Special Collections and Archives

Finding Aid

Phone: (404) 413-2880
Fax: (404) 413-2881
E-Mail: archives@gsu.edu

Mailing Address:
Special Collections & Archives
Georgia State University Library
100 Decatur Street, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3202

In Person:
Library South, 8th floor

Employee Directory