Skip to main content

Atlanta Government: Subject Guide: Library Resources

This guide will help you find information and resources on Atlanta Government. Click on the various links to access library resources plus reliable, relevant websites.

Primary Resources

Primary resources provide firsthand evidence of historical events. Primary resources include (but are not limited to) photographs, speeches, or oral histories. Oral histories are recordings of historical events by individuals who have first hand knowledge of an event, a period in time, etc.

The Library's Special Collections & Archives includes the Georgia Government Documentation Project. This growing collection includes more than 250 interviews with former governors, legislators, women in politics, African-American political activists, and more.

Business in Atlanta

Business interests in Atlanta are powerful. Depending on your research focus it may be advantageous to review the Library's: State of Georgia Business Information

Search the GSU Library Catalog

Search the GSU Library GIL-Find Catalog
Note: Using this feature will take you away from this subject guide.

For more complex searches, use the Advanced Search option.
 
Search Tips:
  • Use quotes to search for phrases:
    • "discourse on political economy"
  • Use * for wild card searches:
    • politic* will return politics, political, and politicize
  • Use AND and OR to narrow or broaden your search. Note: AND and OR must be ALL caps:
    • liberty AND freedom - to retrieve results that include both terms
    • liberty OR freedom - to retrieve results that contain either term

Get Books From Other Libraries

Use the options listed below to find books not in the GSU library:

1.  The GIL Universal Catalog, allows you to search and request books from any University System of Georgia library. To use, choose "University System of Georgia" from the drop-down menu to the left of the "Search" button. After you find the book you need, click the "Log in to enable GIL Express Requests" link to have the book transferred to the GSU Library. Requests take anywhere from 4-7 days to arrive at the GSU library.

2.  You can also check out books in person from any University System of Georgia library or Emory University's libraries using your PantherCard. Call the library before you go for information on their borrowing policies.

3.  If you still are not finding enough information, use the WorldCat database, which allows you to search the collections of libraries throughout the world. Books located in WorldCat can be ordered via the Interlibrary Loan (ILL) ILLiad system. To do so, first locate the book you would like to request in the WorldCat database. Then, log into  ILLiad with your library ID number (on the back of your PantherCard) to place a request. ILL requests may take two weeks or more to arrive at the GSU Library, so plan ahead.

Still stuck? Ask a librarian for help.