Skip to main content

African History: Primary Sources


To find maps of Africa available in the GSU Library, do a subject-term search in GIL or GIL-Find for Africa Maps.

These websites also contain information about maps of Africa available online:

Looking for African Newspapers?

Try GSU's African Newspapers database first.

If a newspaper you are looking for is not there, try searching the Center for Research Libraries, which holds many historical South African newspapers in microform.

Click on the "Newspapers" tab and then select a country to browse holdings for that country.

If a newspaper is held on microform (that is, microfilm or microfiche) at the Center for Research Libraries, you can place an Interlibrary Loan order for a specific date range. Use the "Other (Free Text)" request to request microform copies of newspapers or journals.

Databases available at GSU

Selected Digital Collections: Freely Available

Searching for Digital Collections

Many libraries and organizations are making digital materials available online.

To find these collections, use this search string in Google or another search engine, in addition to keywords relevant to your topic, for example:

digital collection library somali* history

You can also try the same search limiting to site:org rather than site:edu BUT:

Be careful!

EDU = educational institution
ORG = organization, which can mean almost ANY kind of noncorporate organization. If you aren't familiar with the organization, do some research on it! Who are they? What do they promote? Are they reliable?

* * *

For more information about evaluating websites, see the Evaluating Information tab, above.


*Why is that asterisk there? The asterisk is a truncation symbol. Using it will return results on both "Somali" and "Somalia," since they both start with "somali".

Books Available Online

These online collections include digital versions of many out-of-copyright works including government documents, historical magazines and other periodicals, and books published before 1923. Coverage can be spotty, but these sites are worth searching...  just in case.