Skip to main content

Outcasts United: Cultural Roles

Library Databases

GenderWatch

A full text database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas.

Anthropology Plus

Anthropology Plus is the world's most comprehensive, focused index of bibliographic materials from the late 1800s to today in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology; ethnology, archaeology, folklore, and material culture; and interdisciplinary studies. Beyond these disciplines, researchers and scholars in art history, demography, economics, genetics, geography, geology, history, psychology, religion, or sociology will all find relevant anthropological material. Anthropology Plus unites two premier indexes created in two hemispheres. The result is extensive, worldwide coverage of core journals plus local and lesser-known journals. Together, Harvard University's highly respected Anthropological Literature database and the United Kingdom's Anthropological Index (Royal Anthropological Institute) provide a uniquely broad and rich resource for education and research in anthropology and related fields.

eHRAF World Cultures

eHRAF World Cultures is a systematically organized collection of thousands of books and articles on cultures from all regions of the world. eHRAF World Cultures may be used to find information on particular cultures, ethnic groups, or immigrant groups, and it may be used to find information on beliefs, superstitions, or subjects such as political structure, architecture, kinship units, or settlement patterns.

JSTOR 

An interdisciplinary database including academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

Gender Roles

Different cultures have different cultural expectations. Adapting to a new country often requires changing long held attitudes and behaviors, not an easy task. More specifically, culture greatly influences men and women role's within a society. For instance, in Coach Luma's country of origin - Jordan, a conservative Muslim society - women were discouraged from playing sports with men. But in the United States, Luma was free to play and coach soccer with both men and women. How do immigrants learn and adjust to their roles within a new country?

Encyclopedias

Start with these good general reference books:


Books