Skip to main content

Outcasts United: Countries

Library Databases

eHRAF World Cultures eHRAF World Cultures is a systematically organized collection of thousands of books and articles on cultures from all regions of the world. eHRAF World Cultures may be used to find information on particular cultures, ethnic groups, or immigrant groups, and it may be used to find information on beliefs, superstitions, or subjects such as political structure, architecture, kinship units, or settlement patterns.

PAIS International PAIS International includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world.

Academic Search Complete Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-textdatabase. Includes area studies, ethnic and multicultural studies, geography, law, and many other disciplines.

JSTOR  An interdisciplinary database including academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

LexisNexis Academic  Full-text of more than 1,000 newspapers from the U.S. and around the world in English, other languages, and translations of international papers.

EIU ViewsWire Timely analysis on key economic, political, and business developments around the world. Also delivers a one page report and overall briefing on countries and regions.


Where Are They From?

Coach Luma and her team have immigrated to the United States from countries in Africa, the Balkans, and the Middle East. Some of the represented countries are Jordan, Sudan, Congo, Afghanistan, Liberia, Iraq, Somalia, Bosnia... For general information about a specific country, start your research by following these links:

Encyclopedia Britannica

World Factbook

US Department of State

BBC Country Profiles

A good place for maps:

The United Nations Country Profile Maps

Catalog Search

You can search for information about specific countries in GIL, the library catalog. Enter the name of your country as either a keyword or subject term. You can also expand your search to include all the libraries of the University System of Georgia campuses by using the GIL Universal Catalog.