Skip to main content

Shakespeare Research: More Articles

Journals

These are core titles in English Studies.

Peer reviewed journals

Journals published by professional associations or a university press will have a panel of scholars who evaluate articles submitted for publication. In other words, thse editorial panels are comprised of the author's peers. If approved for publication the panel has agreed that the article will advance the thinking within the discipline.

Finding articles

Databases sometimes include the full article, and sometimes only have the citation that tells you when and where the article was published.

Often, if the article text isn't included along with the citation, you'll see this Find It @GSU button instead. Click the button to get a list of possible online sources for the article you want. You may get several links if we have the article on more than one site.

Not every journal article is available online, so you may need to find it in print. Search GIL for the journal title, just like you'd search for the title of a book.

The process of finding articles can be confusing at first. Ask a librarian for help if you can't find what you need!

Finding Journals

How do I find key literature journals?

  • Browse the MLA Directory of Periodicals available through the MLA International Bibliography.
  • Use the Narrow my search function in the keyword Search in GIL to narrow a keyword search of 'victorian' to the location, University Library periodicals. 
  • Browse journal lists by subject in databases such as Project Muse and JSTOR.

 

Literature databases

  • MLA International Bibliography- This database sponsored by the Modern Language Association contains journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, and more.
  • Literature Online Reference Edition- This database provides an alternative for MLA and contains many full text journal articles.
  • Project Muse- This database provides full text articles for journals in the Social Sciences and Humanities.
  • JSTOR- This is an archival database that provides the back issues for journals in the Social Sciences and Humanities.
  • Literary Reference Center- This is a good place for undergraduates to start looking for literary criticism. Browse authors or works and find full text articles and more.
  • World Shakespeare Bibliography- This database provides annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare and published or produced between 1961 and the present.

 

State of the Art

These publications cover the most important sources for literature and language study year by year.

The year’s work in critical and cultural theory

The Year's Work in English Studies

Also try...

Google Scholar- This interdisciplinary search engine links to many GSU full text articles and full text books availalble through Google books.

Humanities Librarian

Leslie Madden's picture
Leslie Madden
Contact:
Library South
Suite 542
404-413-2807