Skip to main content

Social Work 7300: Methods of Community Research: How Can I Find Sources?

Article Collections (Databases)

Find the Article Text

Article databases sometimes include the full article, and sometimes only have the citation that tells you when and where the article was published.

Often, if the article text isn't included along with the citation, you'll see this Find It @GSU button instead.  Click the button to get a list of possible online sources for the article you want.  You may get several links if we have the article on more than one site.

If we don't have the article online, search GIL for the journal title, just like you'd search for the title of a book. (Note: that's the journal title, not the article title.)

Science journals are on Library South 3rd floor, recent non-science journals are on Library North 1st floor, and older non-science journals are on Library North 3rd floor.

Ask a librarian for help if you can't find what you need!

(edit text Add/edit text for this content box)

Have I searched thoroughly?

Often researchers conducting literature reviews feel unsure that their review has been thorough enough. Here is a list of all the places you should consider checking. Not all will be relevant for your search, depending on the topic.

Basics

Journals Collections/Databases

  • Search the articles databases relevant to your study topic. (See the How Can I Find Sources tab on this guide for more help in choosing relevant databases.)

Newspaper Collections/Databases (if relevant)

Internet

Large-scale Book Catalogs

Dissertation and Thesis Collections/Databases

Search GIL for Additional Books and Printed Journals

Click on the screen above to enter the GIL Find catalog. If you prefer to search Classic GIL, click this image, then click the link in the top right corner.

Getting books from other libraries

If GSU's library doesn't have what you need, you have, don't give up.  There are several options to get the book or article you want:

  • GIL Express allows you to order books and other physical items (like videos) from any University System of Georgia library.  Search the GIL Universal Catalog, find the book you need, and click GIL Express Request at the bottom of the screen.  GIL Express requests usually take only a few days.
  • You can also check out books in person from any University System of Georgia library or Emory University's Woodruff Library using your PantherCard.
  • If the book isn't available from a GIL Express/USG library, you can order it via Interlibrary Loan (ILL).  Log into the system with your library ID number (on the back of your PantherCard) to place a request.  ILL requests may take two weeks or more, so plan ahead.
  • If you need an article that we don't own, you can usually get it digitally through Interlibrary Loan within a few days.
Search for an item in libraries near you:
WorldCat.org >>

Still stuck? Ask a librarian for help.