Skip to main content

ENGL 8000: Bibliography, Research Methods, and Literary Theory: Journals

Provides an introduction to the methods and tools of productive scholarly research for English studies and the general humanities.

What is BrowZine?

BrowZine works by consolidating academic journals from multiple publishers in the GSU Library collection into an easily browsable newsstand format for your mobile device.

  • Customize your personal bookshelf with journals you want to track.
  • Browse tables of contents and be alerted to new issues.
  • Easily read recent articles or full journal issues.
  • Sync settings/journals between your tablet and phone.
  • Download and save articles for offline reading.

As its name suggests, BrowZine is designed for browsing recent scholarship in journals you read regulary or in tracking specific subject areas.  No pre-2005 content is available through this service.  For more in-depth research or to find articles on a specific topic, we recommend subject specific databases or Discover search.  For access to the library's full range of back issues, please search our Journal List.

Finding Literature Journals

There are several ways to find literary journals.

  • Browse the MLA Directory of Periodicals in the MLA International Bibliography or search the database by keyword to find relevant articles in scholarly journals.
  • Use an older edition of Harner's Literary Research Guide to find periodicals in each field of study.
  • Browse journal lists in Project Muse or JSTOR by subject.
  • Look in the Literature section of Magazines for Libraries (3rd floor Library North Z6941 .M23). Though this guide to periodicals is dated there is still much good information to be found here.  Keep in mind that many of our journal subscriptions are now online only.  
  • Look at the website for the organization in your field. Many publish journals (Modern Language Association publishes PMLA.)

To find specific journals, choose the Journals tab on the Library homepage and search by the journal title.  This search will tell you whether or not we have a particular journal, which volumes we have, and in which format (print, online, or microform).

If we don't have access to a journal, you may request articles through Interlibrary Loan.  You will need the complete citation for the article.

To find information about journals, such as publication frequency, publisher, and where it is indexed, use Ulrich'sweb.

Print Vs. Online

Very few journals are still published in print only. How do you find a print journal in the library?

  • Look in the bound periodicals on the third floor of Library North under call numbers: PR- British Literature or PS- American Literature.
  • Current issues are interfiled with bound periodicals.  

Access for online journals is provided through the Library's databases.  If fulltext is not available, online access for many journals is provided through the FINDIt@GSU citation linking system. 

Humanities Librarian

Leslie Madden's picture
Leslie Madden
Contact:
Library South
Suite 542
404-413-2807

Getting BrowZine

1) Download BrowZine by going to the relevant app store for your device and searching for "browzine". It's a free app

   

2) Open BrowZine and choose "Georgia State University" from the list of libraries.

 

3) Logon with your campus ID and password. (Don't forget to update this setting in BrowZine when you change your campus ID password.)