Skip to main content

Neurophilosophy: Subject Guide: Faculty Info

Class Instruction

If you would like to schedule a library instruction session for your classes, contact me at 404-413-2862 or bkooy@gsu.edu

Please provide the following information when requesting a session:

  • Your name
  • The course you teach
  • The day and time your class meets
  • The day you would like the session
  • Number of students in the class
  • The research needs of the course in general or how the library instruction may relate to a particular assignment. (If the latter, please describe the assignment, such as number and types of sources required.)

Sessions can be taught in your classroom or in the library; please specifcy. A two week advance notice is appreciated.  

Teaching Online?

Assist your students in finding quality information resources by integrating library resources and services into your uLearn  course. Possible options include:

  1. Add a link in your course to the librarian for your students to contact with library related questions.

  2. Develop a course guide.  Course guides point students to library resources that are useful for a particular course and course assignments. They also provide tips on using the resources to access the needed information.

  3. Create a Discussion Topic for students to ask questions about library related issues.  Topics are like different folders for the different discussions you are going to have in your class. A Library Resources Topic will allow the librarian to respond to student questions about library resources. Since multiple students will have similiar questions, all students will benefit from seeing the librarian's response.

Contact me to learn more!

How Can I Help You?

Librarians are here to provide support for your teaching and research needs. I encourage you to contact me at 404.413.2862 / bkooy@gsu.edu if you have questions about how I can help you and your students.

Current Journal Copyright Policies

Publisher copyright policies & self-archving for select Philosophy journals obtained from the SHERPA/RoMEO database.

Click on a journal title below to determine the archiving policy for inclusion in Georgia State University Library's institutional repository - the ScholarWorks @ Georgia State University. The purpose of the archive is to to collect, preserve, and provide access to scholarship produced by faculty at Georgia State University. Faculty can deposit their articles, conference presentations, class materials, and other scholarly output in the Digital Archive to make it freely available to researchers. Participation in the institutional repository is optional; this is a service that the library is providing to ensure long-term preservation of your work and to increase access to your work.

If you cannot find your journal on the list:

  1. Search the SHERPA/RoMEO database
  2. Browse the list of publishers from the SHERPA/RoMEO database
  3. Browse the list of publishers allowing the deposition of their published version/PDF in Institutional Repositories

Select Journal List:

Zotero

Zotero is a free Firefox plugin that easily saves citations from GIL and most library databases, as well as sites like Amazon and the New York Times online. See the Zotero information page for help and useful tips.

Endnote

EndNote is a program for managing bibliographic citations. It can automate much of the work of organizing and formatting citations and bibliographies in your writing. EndNote can connect to online sources such as GIL and article databases, output results in over 1,000 different bibliographic styles, and more.

Please see the library's EndNote information page for information on how to download and use the software.

Don't want to download the software? Use EndNoteWeb, the Web-based version that allows you to access your citations from any computer, any where, any time. .