Skip to main content

Neurophilosophy: Subject Guide: Find Articles

Tutorials

Use the following tutorials to learn more about how to locate articles in journal and other periodical sources.

What is peer review?

  A peer reviewed journal article is an article that has been reviewed and chosen for publication by the author's professional peers. These peers are scholars in the field, who sit on the editorial board of a journal which is usually published by a professional organization or a university press. Peer reviewed articles can also be known as scholarly or refereed articles. 

Citation Searches

Need to locate an online version of an article for which you already have the citation? Try the library's

Citation Linker

To use:

  • Enter as much information as you have about the article (title, journal name, volume, issue, etc.) into the form and click GO.
  • From the resulting page, click on the name of the database which includes the year of the article you need.
  • Follow the available options to locate the article.

Philosophy & Other Related Article Databases

Still not finding what you need?

 Try the Library's new Discover Search.

Discover searches across most of the library's databases and holdings using one simple search tool.

Advanced Discover Search or use the search box below.

GSU Library's Discover Search
Limit Your Results:

Database Search Tips

1. For off-campus access, enter your Campus ID and Password at the prompt.

2. Use the Advanced Search option within the database you are using to achieve the best results.

3. Keep your search terms brief and concise.

4. Check your spelling. Library databases do not correct spelling errors.

5. If your first set of search terms doesn't retrieve any results, try using synonyms that describe your topic.

6. You can search for different forms of a word (different word endings of the same word), by typing the first few letters followed by an asterisk. Example:

  • caus* will search for cause, causes, causation, causality, etc.

7. Use double quotation marks around two or more words to search as a phrase. Example:

  • “correspondence theory" 

8. Use the connecting words AND, OR, and NOT to narrow or broaden your search. Examples:

  • truth AND falsity - to search for articles that include both terms
  • coherence OR correspondence - to search for articles that contain either term
  • coherence NOT correspondence - to search for articles that contain information about coherence but not correspondence

9. You can create more complex searches by using the words AND, OR, NOT, in combination with parentheses. Example:

  • Kant AND (lie OR lying OR liar) AND truth

10. If don’t see a full-text link (HTML full text or PDF), try clicking on the  button to determine whether the article you need is available full-text in another database.  If it is, the Find-It service will direct you to the article. 

Ask a librarian for help if you can't find what you need!