Developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the US National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH). This resource contains citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books in the fields of life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.
Public health database that provides information on international health, biomedical life sciences, non-communicable diseases, public health nutrition, food safety and hygiene, and more. Indexes journal articles, books, conference proceedings, patents, and more.
Combines the National Library of Medicine's bibliographic database with links to the complete text of articles from leading medical journals. The database offers information related to the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences.
The PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) Index database contains references to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more.
Covers family planning technology and programs, fertility, population law and policy, demography, maternal and child health, AIDS and other sexually transmitted diseases, reproductive health programs, women in development, and health care communication. From the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health/Center for Communication Programs, funded by the USAID.
Web of Science provides seamless access to the Science Citation Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index as well as Book Citation Index and Conference Proceedings Citation Index.
Embase (@ Emory)
Available at Emory University - take your Panther Card. You can go to any branch of the Emory libraries to use the database on a visitor computer station.
Embase "vs." MEDLINE
Embase currently contains over 28 million records from 1947 onwards. Currently 4,800 journals are indexed for Embase in 30 languages. Contains peer-reviewed literature, in-press publications and many conference abstracts. Contains more European literature than MEDLINE.
MEDLINEcurrently contains over 24 million references to journal articles from the 1940s onwards. Currently 5,200 journals in 37 languages are indexed for MEDLINE.
Of the 4,800 journals indexed in Embase, 1,800 are not indexed in MEDLINE. Similarly, of the 5,200 journals indexed in MEDLINE, 1,800 are not indexed in Embase.
You can search MEDLINE and Embase simultaneously through Embase. The amount of records in Embase includes the MEDLINE records. Records are mostly "de-duped".
Embase uses the Emtree thesaurus, similar to MEDLINE's MeSH thesaurus.
Review the Embase Quick Guide below before you go.
PubMed, MEDLINE, and Embase all let you access MEDLINE, the U.S. National Library of Medicine's biomedicine bibliographic database. However, there are several differences between the options, including additional citations in PubMed and, especially, Embase.
Academic Search Complete provides complete coverage of multidisciplinary academic journals. The collection includes peer-reviewed journals, full-text periodicals, reports, and books, for STM research, the Social Sciences, Humanities, and other areas of academic studies. PDF content dates back as far as 1887.
Database produced by the AARP that provides bibliographic information on social gerontology (the study of aging in psychological, health-related, social, and economic contexts). Includes information regarding the delivery of health care to the older population and its associated costs and policies, as well as consumer, employment, and public policy issues.
Full-text database of periodicals, peer-reviewed journals, academic and professional publications, magazines, consumer newsletters and newspapers, research reports, and association newsletters focused on complementary, alternative and integrated approaches to health care.
Covers marketing, management, accounting, finance, and economics. Includes full-text journals, financial data, books, reference works, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, and SWOT analyses.
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, and allied health disciplines, providing access to journals, books, dissertations, standards of practice.
Unique source of reliable and up-to-date information on the effects of interventions in health care. Designed to provide information and evidence to support decisions taken in health care and to inform those receiving care.
A database sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education providing access to educational-related literature to facilitate the use of educational research and information to improve practice. Access to ERIC is provided by EBSCO.
Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports in psychology. Includes information on related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.