Skip to main content

Health Policy: Articles

Research resources for Georgia Health Policy Center staff.

Getting the full article

1) First, look for a direct link to the article. Specifically, look for links that say "HTML Full Text" or "PDF Full Text."

2) If you don't see one of these links, look for a button next to article you want. Clicking this button will check for full text availability outside of the database you are currently searching. A new window will open and depending on what full text formats are available through the Library, you will be see several link options:

Full Text Online
Means that electronic full text of the article is available from one of GSU Library's full text providers. Click this link to proceed to full text provider's site where you will look for PDF link to article. If you are off campus, you will probably be asked for your CampusID/password. Once on the full text provider site, you may need to "drill down" to specific volume/issue to access full text.

We May Have a Copy in Print
If this link appears as the first option, then no electronic full text is available. However, the library may have a print copy of the article. Clicking this link will search the GSU Library catalog, GIL, to see if the library owns any print volumes of the journal in which the article is published. If so, you will need to check the Recent Issues or Volumes Owned fields to see what volumes/issues are available.

Request This Item Through Interlibrary Loan
If neither electronic nor print access is available at GSU Library, you can click this link to access Illiad, GSU Library's system for requesting articles (and other materials) from other libraries. This service is free for GSU students/employees.

Occasionally, people encounter problems trying to access articles from home using the "Find It @ GSU" button. Sometimes pop-up blockers prevent the "Find It" window from opening, so check your browser settings. Additional information on the "Find It @ GSU" button feature can be found here.

Ask a librarian for help if you can't find what you need!

PubMed tutorials

Hover your cursor over these links for a brief description of the tutorial.

Health databases

All of the databases listed below are accessible from off campus. Off-campus users will be prompted to enter their Campus ID/password.


PubMed   Note: Interface has changed. See tutorials on bottom left of this page.

A service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that indexes over 18 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. Articles tend to be very clinically-focused. You can also search MEDLINE via MEDLINE (at EBSCOhost).
Unique source of reliable and up-to-date information on the effects of interventions in health care. Designed to provide information and evidence to support decisions taken in health care and to inform those receiving care.

 

CINAHL (pronounced "sin-all") (at EBSCOhost)
Indexes 3,000 journals from the fields of nursing and 17 allied health fields, including nutrition. Also indexes health carebooks, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, book chapters, and Evidence-Based Care Sheets.

 

Indexes over 1,000 journals focusing on nursing, allied health fields, and many medical disciplines.

 

PsycINFO (at EBSCOhost)
Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines.

 

Database produced by the AARP that provides bibliographic information on aging in relation to psychology, health-care, sociology, economics, employment, public policy, etc.

 

Global Health (at EBSCOhost)
Public health database that provides information on international health, biomedical life sciences, non-communicable diseases, public health nutrition, food safety and hygiene, and more. Indexes journal articles, books, conference proceedings, patents, and more.

 

Alt HealthWatch (at EBSCOhost)
Full-text database of periodicals, peer-reviewed journals, academic and professional publications, magazines, consumer newsletters and newspapers, research reports and association newsletters focused on complementary, alternative and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.

Additional databases

These databases aren't focused solely on health issues, but they are multidisciplinary and include health-related topics.

 

Academic Search Complete (at EBSCOhost)
Multidisciplinary database that indexes articles, books, newspapers, reports, conference proceedings, and more.

 

EconLit
Indexes articles, books, and dissertations covering economics-related topics.

 

Search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research.

 

PAIS stands for Public Affairs Information Service. International public policy/public affairs information relevant to researchers, students, administrators, legislators, and business and financial decision-makers.

 

Research Library (at ProQuest)
Multidisciplinary database that indexes scholarly journals and general magazines.

 

Citations from more than 8,000 peer-reviewed journals in the sciences and social sciences. Includes Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Science Citation Index.

Databases in related fields

See other subject-specific research guides for lists of databases that cover other health-related policy topics, such as:

Also, refer to the Government Information tab above for additional resources on policy or legal issues.