Skip to main content

Jewish Cultural Studies: Subject Guide: Encyclopedias & More

Search tips and research resources for topics in Jewish Cultural Studies.

Reference Sources

Use Reference Sources, such as encyclopedias, to get a general overview of your topic. They are not intended to be read cover-to-cover, but rather provide you with more concise information as you begin to explore a topic. Reference sources generally provide several things:

  • Background information about a topic.
  • Brief, factual overviews of topics.
  • Information about important dates, events, and people associated with a topic.
  • Terminology and definitions of terms related to a topic.
  • Articles written by authors with exertise in the subject matter.
  • Bibliographies of sources for further reading.

Types of Sources

Different types of reference sources answer different types of questions. Listed below are common types of reference sources for research in Jewish cultural studies and the kind of information contained in each:

  • Almanac - Compilations of facts and statistics, usually one volume.
  • Atlas - Maps and geographical information.
  • Biography - Biographical information about individuals.
  • Dictionary - Definitions of terms, either general or in relation to a specific subject or discipline.
  • Encyclopedia - Comprehensive summaries of factual information, providing more detail than a dictionary.
  • Handbook - Concise explanatory information on a topic.

Search GIL, the Library Catalog to find additional reference sources in the Library.

Online Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

The following online encyclopedias and dictionaries are available to you from both on- and off-campus. For off-campus access, use your University logon and password (the same logon/password you use to log onto the campus computer lab computers).

Print Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Use the following print encyclopedias to find background information on your topic. Other helpful encyclopedias can be found in the Reference Section on the 2nd floor of Library North. Please contact me if you need help finding additional resources for your research.

You should also check the encyclopedias and dictionaries on the following guide:

Your Librarian

Brian Kooy's picture
Brian Kooy
Contact:
Library South
bkooy@gsu.edu | 404.413.2862