Skip to main content

English Language: Articles

Journals

This is a core list of journals for English Studies.

State of the Art

This annual publication covers important sources in English language study.

The Year's Work in English Studies

Peer reviewed journals

Journals published by professional associations or a university press will have a panel of scholars who evaluate articles submitted for publication. In other words, thse editorial panels are comprised of the author's peers. If approved for publication the panel has agreed that the article will advance the thinking within the discipline.

Finding Journals

How do I find key journals in English language?

  •  Browse the MLA Directory of Periodicals available through the MLA International Bibliography.
  • Use the Narrow my search function in the keyword Search in GIL to narrow a keyword search of 'English language' to the location, University Library periodicals.

What if I have a journal citation? See How do I find the article?

 

Essential databases for English language

  • MLA International Bibliography- This database sponsored by the Modern Language Association contains journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, and more.
  • Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts.- Find articles, books, and more on language and linguistics.
  • Project Muse- This database provides full text articles for journals in the Social Sciences and Humanities.
  • JSTOR- This is an archival database that provides the back issues for journals in the Social Sciences and Humanities.

For a complete list of of GSU databases, go to Databases A to Z.

Finding articles

Databases sometimes include the full article, and sometimes only have the citation that tells you when and where the article was published.

Often, if the article text isn't included along with the citation, you'll see this Find It @GSU button instead. Click the button to get a list of possible online sources for the article you want. You may get several links if we have the article on more than one site.

Not every journal article is available online, so you may need to find it in print. Search GIL for the journal title, just like you'd search for the title of a book.

The process of finding articles can be confusing at first. Ask a librarian for help if you can't find what you need!

Humanities Librarian

Leslie Madden's picture
Leslie Madden
Contact:
Library South
Suite 542
404-413-2807