Skip to main content

*Religious Studies: Subject Guide: Find Books

Search tips and research resources for topics in religious studies.

Tutorials

Use the following tutorials to learn how to locate information in the library's Online Catalog - GIL.

Where's My Book?

When you search GIL-Find, GSU Library's Online catalog, get this information to find the book:

  • Call number
  • Location
  • Status (Checked Out, Not Checked Out, Renewed, etc.)

These web pages provide more information

Catalog Relationships

catalog relationships

GIL: Searches only items in the GSU Library

GIL Universal Catalog: Searches the contents of 35 academic libraries in Georgia

WorldCat: Searches 10,000 libraries worldwide.

Search the GSU Library Catalog

Search the GSU Library GIL-Find Catalog
Note: Using this feature will take you away from this subject guide.

For more complex searches, use the Advanced Search option.
 
Search Tips:
  • Use quotes to search for phrases:
    • "divine law"
  • Adding an asterisk  * to the stem of a word will search for various word endings.
    • myst* will return mystic, mysticsmystical, and mysticism
  • Use AND and OR to narrow or broaden your search. Note: AND and OR must be ALL caps:
    • headscarf AND veil - to retrieve results that includes all of your search terms (retrieves fewer results)
    • headscarf OR veil - to retrieve results that contain any of your search terms (retrieves more results)

Get Books From Other Libraries

Use the options listed below to find books not in the GSU library:

1.  The GIL Universal Catalog, allows you to search and request books from any University System of Georgia library. To use, choose "University System of Georgia" from the dropdown menu to the left of the "Search" button. After you find the book you need, click the "Log in to enable GIL Express Requests" link to have the book transferred to the GSU Library. Requests take anywhere from 4-7 days to arrive at the GSU library.

2.  You can also check out books in person from any University System of Georgia library or Emory University's libraries using your PantherCard. Call the library before you go for information on their borrowing policies.

3.  If you still are not finding enough information, use the WorldCat database, which allows you to search the collections of libraries throughout the world. Books located in WorldCat can be ordered via the Interlibrary Loan (ILL) ILLiad system. To do so, first locate the book you would like to request in the WorldCat database. Then, log into  ILLiad with your library ID number (on the back of your PantherCard) to place a request. ILL requests may take two weeks or more to arrive at the GSU Library, so plan ahead.

Still stuck? Ask a librarian for help.

Finding Book Reviews

Most of the library's article databases allow you to search for book reviews. Here are instructions on how to find book reviews in the most used databases appropriate for research in religious studies:

  • ATLA Religion Database
    • Created by the American Theological Library Association
    • The main source for bibliographical citations of book reviews in religion (more than 400,000)
    • Use the Advanced Search option. Then type the title of the book or issue for which you need reviews into the search box. Then choose "Review" from "Document Type" pull down menu near the bottom of the page and click Search.
       
  • Religion and Philosophy Collection
    • Use the Advanced Search option. Then type the title of the book or issue for which you need reviews into the search box. Then choose "Book Review" from the "Document Type" pull down menu near the bottom of the page and click Search.
    • This database provides extensive coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
  • Academic Search Complete
    • Academic Search Complete is a large, multidisciplinary database that abstracts and indexes over 9,000 journals and includes the full text of 5,500 journals. More than 4,000 of the journals are peer-reviewed. One of the publications available in this database is Reviews in Religion and Theology.
    • Use the Advanced Search option. Then type the title of the book or issue for which you need reviews into the search box. Then choose "Book Review" from the list of "Document Types" near the bottom of the page and click Search.
       
  • JSTOR
    • JSTOR is an interdiscplinary digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources.
    • Use the Advanced Search option. Then, type the title of the book or issue for which you need reviews into the search box and click on "Reviews" from the "Narrow By" list of options.

In databases that do not have a "Book Review" limiting option, you can simply type the words "book review" (in quotes) into one of the Advanced Search option search boxes and then either the title of a specific book or a topic.