Skip to main content

Social Work 3600: Social Welfare Policy: Lit Review: Find articles & studies

Guide to social policy resources with special emphasis on Georgia legislation and policy

Scholarly Articles Online

Most scholarly sources are not available for free on the web, so you will have to use the University Library's article databases in order to search for them. Here are a few good options.

  • Discover
    The Discover search, which you can find on the library's homepage, searches over 90% of the University Library's print and online holdings.

Congressional Quarterly Online

News Articles Online

Check out local news sources to get a feel for how legislation will impact people in different parts of the state.

  • LexisNexis Academic
    Full text of many large and small newspapers, including the Atlanta Journal Constitution. To limit by newspaper, click "Power Search," then "More Sources."
     
  • Newspaper Source
    Full text of smaller papers, including those from Athens, Augusta, Americus, Columbus, Macon, and Savannah. Click "Publications" in the top left corner to limit to GA papers.

Atlanta News Sources

News from Other Cities in Georgia
This is not a comprehensive list. Check Google or Newspaper Source and LexisNexis for additional Georgia news sources.

Other Websites

You can use these sites to find reports and statistics on issues of political importance in the state and country.

USA.gov - is your online guide to government information and services. USA.gov searches only federal, state, and local government websites for the public.

Andrew Young School of Policy Studies Research Vault
Check the research publications and the various centers (under Faculty and Research tab), as well.

Council of State Governments
A nonpartisan, nonprofit state-sustained organization that serves the executive, judicial and legislative branches of state government through leadership education, research and information services.  Georgia is included with states in the Southern Region.

Georgia Budget and Policy Institute
Research and publications related to state budget, tax, and economic issues.

Georgia Department of Education
Includes reports, toolkits, and data relating to education in the state.

Federal Department of Education

IssueLab
This site contains the text of research studies, including policy studies, produced by nonprofit organizations worldwide, covering such areas as aging, crime, and homelessness.

National Conference of State Legislatiures
NCSL provides research, technical assistance and opportunities for policymakers to exchange ideas on the most pressing state issues.

Public Agenda Online
A  nonpartisan, nonprofit public opinion research and citizen education organization with the two-fold mission to help leaders better understand the public's point of view on major policy issues and help citizens better understand critical policy issues so they can make their own more informed and thoughtful decision.

Stateline
Searchable by state. this site was founded in order to help journalists, policy makers and engaged citizens become better informed about innovative public policies.

PolicyArchive (please note that this site is malfunctioning, 1/28/14. It has been reported to PA.)
Includes reports on various policies.


You can also use Google carefully, but be sure that you're judging the sources critically. You need to make sure that the sources are reputable and reliable. See this site and checklist for help evaluating sites you find.