Skip to main content

Early Childhood Education: Articles

Search tips and research resources for topics related to early childhood education. Also includes resources for citing sources.

About finding articles

The most efficient way to find articles on a topic is to search a database, which allows you to search for articles from hundreds of journals at once.

Each database searches different sets of journals, so usually you'll want to search several databases.

All of the databases listed on this page are accessible from off campus. Off-campus users will be prompted for their Campus ID/password.

Is my article peer-reviewed?

Not all published material has the same credibility. Peer-reviewed articles have more authority because they have been scrutinized and approved by scholars in a particular field. Peer-reviewed articles/journals are sometimes called "refereed" articles/journals. To learn more, see this tutorial.


There are several ways to identify peer-reviewed articles:

Limit database searches to only peer-reviewed articles
When searching for articles in databases, look for a search option for limiting to only peer-reviewed articles. In EBSCOhost databases, look for this option on the bottom half of the Advanced Search screen. There is no peer-review search limit option in PubMed or Web of Science.

 

Search Ulrich's Periodicals Directory
If you're ever unsure whether an article is peer-reviewed, you can look up the journal title in Ulrich's Periodicals Directory. Select Title (Exact) in the top right Quick Search box and enter the name of the journal. A referee jersey icon will appear next to the journal title if it is peer-reviewed.