GSU Library Research Guides: Marketing: Customers & Brands

Brands

Brand information can be readily available, or very difficult to find. These resources should help you get started with finding information about who is buying brands and products.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Try searching for the brand name and demographics or customers to find articles in trade publications and magazines about your product
ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
ABI/Inform is one of the key business databases. For company research, this is an excellent resource for trade publications, newspaper and magazine articles.
MRI-Simmons Insights This link opens in a new window
Part of MRI+, this database provides summary tables of key audience and product usage data from Mediamark's national probability sample.
Passport This link opens in a new window
In addition to market shares, Passport also provides brand shares and distribution for global consumer goods with limited services coverage.

Demographics

Among the library's demographic resources are print and electronic books as well as databases. Some demographic databases and websites are:

SimplyAnalytics - demographics and mapping
ReferenceUSA - demographics and company info
Census Business Builder - demographics and small businesses

Customer groups

These resources will help you find information about broad demographic groups and categories: more specialized information may be located, but often will require looking into local resources such as Chambers of Commerce, city governments or neighborhood associations. For example, the City of Decatur has basic city demographic information available in the business section of the city website.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Within the article databases, try searching for population descriptions, such as tweens, boomers or "older americans" and demographic*
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Interested in consumer psychology or buyer behavior? PsycInfo is an excellent resource for locating studies that have been done about what and why customers may do what they do
ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
ABI/Inform is one of the key business databases. For company research, this is an excellent resource for trade publications, newspaper and magazine articles.