Banner Image

*Chemistry: Chemistry Home

Library Blog: Chemistry

Loading
Blank

New to GSU Library?

FREE Modelling Software

RasMol is a free molecular graphics visualization program used for exploring biological macromolecule structures (i.e., proteins, nucleic acids and other small molecules such as those found in the Protein Data Bank (PDB)

Discovery Studio Visulaizer 3.0 is a free commercial-grade graphics visualization tool for viewing, sharing, and analyzing protein and modeling data.

I'm looking for...

Current research and experiments: Look for scholarly articles in one of our databases.

An overview of a topic: Look for books or reference materials using our catalog.

  • Looking for a brief overview of a topic you don’t already know? Search our catalog for the word “encyclopedia” plus a broad topic (ex. encyclopedia chemistry). Or browse our reference collection on Library North 2 (look under Q for science, R for medicine, and T for technology).
  • Looking for in-depth explorations of a topic or field? Search our catalog for the topic. If you don’t find anything, search for a broader topic (e.g. chemotherapy instead of daunorubicin).
  • Looking for the most up-to-date overviews of recent research? Look for review articles in one of the above databases.

Physical reference data: Use Reaxys’s substance search, the library’s reference books, or physical reference data websites.

Journal SEARCH

Use CASSI to find full journal titles from abbreviations.

Major Databases-Finding Articles

SciFinder Scholar 2007

      PubMed

 

Google Scholar  ScienceDirect  Journal Citation Reports 

Science Librarian

Jackie Werner
Contact:
Library South 5, Suite 542

404-413-2869
Website / Blog Page

Chemistry Drawing Software

GSU has a site license to ChemBioDraw (download and installation instructions for home computers here).

The Chemistry Department has ChemBioDraw installed on their computers. ChemSketch is a free software similar to ChemDraw and contains other functions such as making chemical movies (above). ChemSketch is installed on the first and second row computers in Library Classroom 1 (Library North 1).  Other free drawing software includes Symyx Draw and MarvinSketch.